MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry

MEET THE BIGFEET

From the "Yeti Files" series, volume 1
by ; illustrated by
Age Range: 7 - 10
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

It’s a Bigfeet family reunion!

Everyone’s favorite frosty, furry cryptid, the yeti, actually has a name: Blizz Richards. From his supersecret HQ in Nepal he keeps in touch with his fellow cryptids, all of whom have sworn an oath to keep themselves hidden. That’s not always easy, especially when there are cryptozoologists, like the nasty (but bumbling) George Vanquist, who are always trying to expose the secretive creatures. Vanquist got a picture of Blizz’s cousin Brian near his home in British Columbia, causing the mortified Brian to disappear entirely. When Blizz receives an invitation to a Bigfeet family reunion in Canada, he calls his buddies Alexander (one of Santa’s elves), Gunthar (a goblin) and Frank the Arctic fox to help him get ready. When they arrive in Canada, Brian is still nowhere to be seen. Can Blizz and his skunk ape and other sasquatch cousins find Brian, have the reunion and evade Vanquist? If anyone can, the Bigfeet clan can. Illustrator Sherry’s first volume in the Yeti Files is a fast and funny graphic-prose tale full of labeled pictures and comic-style panels. Those just starting chapter books may have some trouble with a few big words, but they’ll enjoy the big friendly monsters and immediately ask for the next tale—which looks to be about the Loch Ness monster.

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)

Pub Date: Sept. 30th, 2014
ISBN: 978-0-545-55617-0
Page count: 128pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15th, 2014




MORE BY KEVIN SHERRY

ChildrenREMY SNEAKERS VS. THE ROBO-RATS by Kevin Sherry
by Kevin Sherry
ChildrenSWALLOW THE LEADER by Danna Smith
by Danna Smith
ChildrenMONSTERS ON THE RUN by Kevin Sherry
by Kevin Sherry
ChildrenTURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
by Kevin Sherry

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenHERE COMES MR. FLAT! by Jaume Copons
by Jaume Copons
ChildrenSLACKS, CAMERA, ACTION! by Scott McCormick
by Scott McCormick
ChildrenSQUISH, SUPER AMOEBA by Jennifer L. Holm
by Jennifer L. Holm