HEART OF ASH by Kim Liggett

HEART OF ASH

From the "Blood and Salt" series, volume 2
Age Range: 14 - 18
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Ash’s transformation into an immortal in Blood and Salt (2015) continues to lead her into both danger and romance.

In the first installment Ash learned that her family is descended from cult members questing for (and occasionally obtaining) immortality. Ash was also briefly possessed by the spirit of an ancient immortal who was seeking revenge on the spirit of her former lover, Coronado. Unfortunately, Coronado’s spirit took up permanent residence in Ash’s love interest, Dane. During this chaotic time, Ash’s twin brother, Rhys, disappeared. Now, a year later, Rhys’ unique blood is being used to assassinate immortals. Ash’s quest to locate Rhys lacks urgency due to her preoccupation with her relationship with Dane—even as murders unfold around her. Meanwhile, Dane claims he can resist Coronado’s attempts to completely control his body, which will undoubtedly sound dubious to readers long before Ash grows suspicious. Overall, Ash’s pattern of ignoring multiple warning signs about the perilousness of her own situation merely slows the pace of the inevitable reveals without adding much suspense. And the narrative also lags as characters rarely display the volatile combination of love and jealousy that supposedly has motivated them to commit atrocities against one another for centuries. Ash is depicted as white on the cover, and the book appears to adhere to the white default.

The occasionally choppy narrative and underdeveloped relationships mark this for fans of Blood and Salt only. (Paranormal romance. 14-18)

Pub Date: Feb. 20th, 2018
ISBN: 978-0-399-16649-5
Page count: 288pp
Publisher: Putnam
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1st, 2017




MORE BY KIM LIGGETT

ChildrenTHE LAST HARVEST by Kim Liggett
by Kim Liggett
ChildrenBLOOD AND SALT by Kim Liggett
by Kim Liggett

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenHOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER by Lish McBride
by Lish McBride
FictionTHE HOST by Stephenie Meyer
by Stephenie Meyer