LIBBY AND PEARL by Lindsey Bonnice

LIBBY AND PEARL

The Best of Friends
illustrated by , by
Age Range: 1 - 5
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

A sweet and cheery celebration of the Pink Frilly Dress phenomenon starring a delightfully photogenic toddler and a pink piglet.

Photographer Bonnice, an adoption advocate, chronicled life with her sunny black baby Libby on Instagram in 2015. The family added a pet pig named Pearl to the household, who became inseparable from Libby. Their images went viral and received national media attention, including the deal that resulted in this book. Libby’s beautiful brown skin is a stunning contrast to Pearl’s light pink coloring. Even as gender issues are making headlines, this photography picture book embraces all things girly, with ribbons and lace overflowing from the pages. Furry carpeting, the mesh of tutus, bath bubbles, down comforters, and even spilled cereal create a visually tactile wonderland. The images have been chosen and staged with an eye for background, color schemes, and perspective. The book simulates a design style found in many DIY photo-album products, with scalloped edges and geometric shapes in the background. With one photo on each page, there is order and consistency in Libby’s world. The text is similarly concise and geared toward adults “We’re not always on the same page, / but we’re part of each other’s story.”

Fans of Libby and Pearl will enjoy these best friends in book form, however fleeting their notoriety may be. (Picture book. 1-5)

Pub Date: Sept. 6th, 2016
ISBN: 978-0-06-245927-5
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Harper/HarperCollins
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15th, 2016




SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenFLO & WENDELL by William Wegman
by William Wegman
ChildrenNAPTIME WITH THEO AND BEAU by Jessica Shyba
by Jessica Shyba
ChildrenTHE BABIES AND DOGGIES BOOK by John Schindel
by John Schindel