Next book


Meier’s xenophobia manages to flourish even on its targets’ home turf. Vive l’Amerique!

Maine reporter Lucy Stone sees her daughter’s dream wedding turn into a nightmare.

As the only local newspaper in Tinker’s Cove, the Courier gets its fair share of wedding announcements. Still, Lucy can’t help feeling nettled when Janice Oberman sails into the paper’s office, duck boots and all, to crow about her third daughter, Chelsea, becoming engaged less than a month after Morgan, her second. Although her son, Toby, married his high school sweetheart ages ago, Lucy’s three intelligent, accomplished daughters are still unwed. Fortunately, Elizabeth, the oldest of them, calls within minutes from Paris, where she works in an upscale hotel, to announce her engagement. Her prospective groom, Jean-Luc Schoen-Rene, is the son of a count (take that, Janice!), and the wedding will take place at his parents’ 80-plus-room château in the French countryside. Wrangling everyone, including Toby’s Seattle-based family, overseas is a major undertaking, but once there, Lucy is increasingly uneasy about the upcoming nuptials. Why, she wonders, are Elizabeth and Jean-Luc allocated just two dark, tiny rooms in the majestic family home? Why does Jean-Luc take Elizabeth and her sisters to a local pub only to spend the evening playing ball with his friends? Readers never find out, because the wedding ceremony is prefaced by a corpse and disrupted by a shooting, leaving Lucy to pick up the pieces. Fortunately, American ingenuity saves the feckless foreigners from a self-induced disaster, and Lucy’s able to return to Tinker’s Cove with her head held high.

Meier’s xenophobia manages to flourish even on its targets’ home turf. Vive l’Amerique!

Pub Date: April 25, 2023

ISBN: 9781496733764

Page Count: 304

Publisher: Kensington

Review Posted Online: March 10, 2023

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 2023

Next book


If you love good crime writing but aren’t familiar with Winslow’s work, read this trilogy in order.

The dramatic conclusion to the trilogy about two New England crime families begun in City on Fire (2022) and City of Dreams (2023).

Near the end of his journey, multimillionaire Danny Ryan watches a casino implode in a mushroom cloud of dust and muses about his life’s implosions: “The cancer that killed his wife, the depression that destroyed his love, the moral rot that took his soul.” Danny is from Providence, Rhode Island, and desperately tried to leave his criminal life behind him. But using a ton of ill-gotten gains, he invests heavily in Las Vegas properties. Congress is conducting an investigation into gambling that could destroy his casino business and even land him in jail. An FBI agent plans to take Danny down for major sins he’d like to repent for. Meanwhile, can he make peace with his enemies? Nope, doesn’t look like it. Even if the parties involved want to put the past behind them, the trouble is that they don’t trust each other. Is Vern Winegard setting Dan up? Is Dan setting Vern up? “Trust? Trust is children waiting for Santa Claus.” So what could have been a “Kumbaya,” nobody-wants-to-read-this story turns into a grisly bloodletting filled with language that would set Sister Mary Margaret’s wimple on fire—figuratively speaking, as she’s not in the book. But the Catholic reference is appropriate: Two of the many colorful characters of ill repute are known as the Altar Boys, serving “Last Communion” to their victims. On the law-abiding side and out of the line of fire is an ex-nun-turned-prosecutor nicknamed Attila the Nun, who’s determined to bring justice for a gory matricide. (Rhode Island really had such a person, by the way.) Finally, the prose is just fun: A friend warns Dan about Allie Licata: “In a world of sick fucks, even the sick fucks think Licata’s a sick fuck.” A couple of things to note: This not only ends the trilogy, but it also closes out the author’s career, as he has said he’ll write no more novels.

If you love good crime writing but aren’t familiar with Winslow’s work, read this trilogy in order.

Pub Date: April 2, 2024

ISBN: 9780063079472

Page Count: 400

Publisher: Morrow/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Dec. 16, 2023

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2024

Next book


A tale that’s hard to believe but easy to swallow in a single gulp.

A bear is hunting prey in Wyoming’s Bighorns. And not just any bear.

It’s bad enough that Clay Hutmacher, who manages the Double Diamond Ranch, has lost his son, Clay Jr., to a vicious attack by a grizzly bear. What’s much worse is that Clay Jr.—who’d been about to pop the question to game warden Joe Pickett’s daughter, Sheridan—is only the first of the victims over an exceptionally broad geographical area. Marshal Marvin Bertignolli is clawed and bitten to death over in Hanna. Sgt. Ryan Winner is found bleeding out north of Rawlins. Former Twelve Sleep County prosecutor Dulcie Schalk, one of two survivors of an ambush, doesn’t survive her final encounter. The four experts chosen to kill the grizzly rope Joe into their expedition, but since their quarry keeps turning up far from the last sighting, the most meaningful confrontation the Predator Attack Team has is with a pair of Mama Bears, animal rights activists who demand due process for Tisiphone, as they’ve dubbed the presumed killer. Box, who’s far too canny to leave Tisiphone alone on center stage, follows Joe’s old antagonist Dallas Cates as the ex–rodeo star is released from prison and embarks on his revenge tour, which takes him to Lee Ogburn-Russell, an inventor whose life Dallas saved, and Axel Soledad, a correspondent who shares so many enemies with Dallas that he suggests they go after them together. Franchise fans will appreciate new details about Joe’s complicated family, the obligatory high-country landscapes, and yet another corrupt law enforcer.

A tale that’s hard to believe but easy to swallow in a single gulp.

Pub Date: Feb. 27, 2024

ISBN: 9780593331347

Page Count: 384

Publisher: Putnam

Review Posted Online: Jan. 5, 2024

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 2024

Close Quickview