Impossibly cute-looking animals, embossed stars and minor close calls add up to a delightful bedtime adventure story for...

READ REVIEW

ONE STARRY NIGHT

From the Little Hedgehog series

Little Hedgehog and his friends enjoy a splendid evening of stargazing.

From his window one night, Hedgehog sees a silver shower of stars sparkling and flashing across the sky. He can't wait to tell his friends. Fox and Mouse are walking home through the meadow when Hedgehog catches up to them. Rabbit soon joins the party, jumping up and down with excitement. The baby mice ask politely if they can stay up to watch, so Mouse agrees. A fallen tree proves to be a tough obstacle, but the animals work together to get over it. Old Badger, in pince-nez with a blanket around his shoulders, advises that the top of the hill is the best viewing spot, and he joins the rest in their trek there, with a lantern to guide them all. Rabbit carries a net; he intends to catch a falling star. And Little Hedgehog carries his trusty binoculars. Mild excitement enters the plot when Rabbit falls into an old badger den, and in trying to see down inside, everyone else falls in too. Little Hedgehog finds another tunnel, and when everyone climbs up and out, there they are at the top of the hill, looking at a sparkly sky that stretches on forever.

Impossibly cute-looking animals, embossed stars and minor close calls add up to a delightful bedtime adventure story for children who absolutely, positively can't stand tension. (Picture book. 3-5)

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 2012

ISBN: 978-1-56148-768-4

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Good Books

Review Posted Online: Aug. 1, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2012

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Banal affirmation buoyed by charming illustrations.

I BELIEVE I CAN

Diversity is the face of this picture book designed to inspire confidence in children.

Fans of Byers and Bobo’s I Am Enough (2018) will enjoy this book that comes with a universal message of self-acceptance. A line of children practices ballet at the barre; refreshingly, two of the four are visibly (and adorably) pudgy. Another group tends a couple of raised beds; one of them wears hijab. Two more children coax a trepidatious friend down a steep slide. Further images, of children pretending to be pirates, dragons, mimes, playing superhero and soccer, and cooking, are equally endearing, but unfortunately they don’t add enough heft to set the book apart from other empowerment books for children. Though the illustrations shine, the text remains pedagogic and bland. Clichés abound: “When I believe in myself, there’s simply nothing I can’t do”; “Sometimes I am right, and sometimes I am wrong. / But even when I make mistakes, I learn from them to make me strong.” The inclusion of children with varying abilities, religions, genders, body types, and racial presentations creates an inviting tone that makes the book palatable. It’s hard to argue with the titular sentiment, but this is not the only book of its ilk on the shelf.

Banal affirmation buoyed by charming illustrations. (Picture book. 3-5)

Pub Date: March 3, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-266713-7

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Oct. 9, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Still, this young boy’s imagination is a powerful force for helping him deal with life, something that should be true for...

OLIVER AND HIS EGG

Oliver, of first-day-of-school alligator fame, is back, imagining adventures and still struggling to find balance between introversion and extroversion.

“When Oliver found his egg…” on the playground, mint-green backgrounds signifying Oliver’s flight into fancy slowly grow larger until they take up entire spreads; Oliver’s creature, white and dinosaurlike with orange polka dots, grows larger with them. Their adventures include sharing treats, sailing the seas and going into outer space. A classmate’s yell brings him back to reality, where readers see him sitting on top of a rock. Even considering Schmid’s scribbly style, readers can almost see the wheels turning in his head as he ponders the girl and whether or not to give up his solitary play. “But when Oliver found his rock… // Oliver imagined many adventures // with all his friends!” This last is on a double gatefold that opens to show the children enjoying the creature’s slippery curves. A final wordless spread depicts all the children sitting on rocks, expressions gleeful, wondering, waiting, hopeful. The illustrations, done in pastel pencil and digital color, again make masterful use of white space and page turns, although this tale is not nearly as funny or tongue-in-cheek as Oliver and His Alligator (2013), nor is its message as clear and immediately accessible to children.

Still, this young boy’s imagination is a powerful force for helping him deal with life, something that should be true for all children but sadly isn’t. (Picture book. 3-5)

Pub Date: July 1, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-4231-7573-5

Page Count: 40

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Review Posted Online: May 19, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 1, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more