THE BUSY BEAVER by Nicholas Oldland

THE BUSY BEAVER

From the "Life in the Wild" series
by , illustrated by
Age Range: 3 - 7

KIRKUS REVIEW

Beaver might be busy, but it’s his carelessness that earns him the ire of his erstwhile woodland pals.

Beaver leaves trees half-chewed. His dams leak. He’s always chawing through more trees than he needs for his projects. Once he was thinking so little about his work that he dropped a tree right on Bear’s head. He’s even been so distracted that he chewed Moose’s leg, thinking it was a tree. One day, Beaver becomes the victim of his own lackadaisical work habits when he fails to notice that the tree he’s chewing on is falling in his direction. He wakes immobilized in the hospital with any number of injuries; all he can do is stare at the ceiling. His convalescence allows him to see what he’s wrought with new eyes: His friends are bandaged, the forest is a mess and he’s left a family of birds homeless. Beaver embarks on a rigorous rehabilitation program to see if he can make things right. Canadian artist Oldland returns with a third woodland fable cast in the same cool, earthy palette (Big Bear Hug, 2009, etc.). Fans of Bear and Moose’s tales will find the same understated (and slightly quirky) humor here.

Great bibliotherapy for any inattentive busy beaver. (Picture book. 3-7)
Pub Date: Aug. 1st, 2011
ISBN: 978-1-55453-749-5
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Kids Can
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15th, 2011




MORE BY NICHOLAS OLDLAND

ChildrenUP THE CREEK by Nicholas Oldland
by Nicholas Oldland
ChildrenDINOSAUR COUNTDOWN by Nicholas Oldland
by Nicholas Oldland
ChildrenBIG BEAR HUG by Nicholas Oldland
by Nicholas Oldland

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenWORM GETS A JOB by Kathy Caple
by Kathy Caple