Series: Life in the Wild


ONE WILD CHRISTMAS by Nicholas Oldland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 3, 2019

"A beary green Christmas book. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A bear, a moose, and a beaver walk into the woods. Read full book review >
WALK ON THE WILD SIDE by Nicholas Oldland
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Another fine lesson couched in a tale that never becomes didactic. (Picture book. 3-9)"
More Life in the Wild from Canadian Oldland (Up the Creek, 2013, etc.).Read full book review >
UP THE CREEK by Nicholas Oldland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Storytimers and newly independent readers alike will enjoy this trio's continuing adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The bear, the moose and the beaver might be friends, but they can't agree on anything! Read full book review >
THE BUSY BEAVER by Nicholas Oldland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

Beaver leaves trees half-chewed. His dams leak. He's always chawing through more trees than he needs for his projects. Once he was thinking so little about his work that he dropped a tree right on Bear's head. He's even been so distracted that he chewed Moose's leg, thinking it was a tree. One day, Beaver becomes the victim of his own lackadaisical work habits when he fails to notice that the tree he's chewing on is falling in his direction. He wakes immobilized in the hospital with any number of injuries; all he can do is stare at the ceiling. His convalescence allows him to see what he's wrought with new eyes: His friends are bandaged, the forest is a mess and he's left a family of birds homeless. Beaver embarks on a rigorous rehabilitation program to see if he can make things right. Canadian artist Oldland returns with a third woodland fable cast in the same cool, earthy palette (Big Bear Hug, 2009, etc.). Fans of Bear and Moose's tales will find the same understated (and slightly quirky) humor here. Read full book review >
BIG BEAR HUG by Nicholas Oldland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

A big black bear is so full of love and happiness that he hugs every living thing he encounters: "No animal was too big… / Too small… / Too smelly… / Or too scary to hug." His favorite things to hug, however, are trees of all types and sizes. One day he sees a big man with an axe staring at a stately tree. At first black bear thinks the man loves trees as much as he does. When black bear realizes the man's intention, he tries to attack; but he can't. Instead "…he decided to do what he did best"—that is, hug—with predictable (and entirely acceptable) results. Canadian commercial artist Oldland's full-bleed and spot illustrations created in Photoshop have the look of woodcut prints except for the woodsman, who stands out from nature because of his heavy black outline. The startled animals on the receiving end of the Little Orphan Annie-eyed black bear's hugs will incite giggles. This debut is a treat for the tree hugger in all of us. (Picture book. 3-7)Read full book review >