Given the dearth of such titles, Spanish-speaking families especially will find the series helpful.

READ REVIEW

ESPERANDO AL BEBE / WAITING FOR BABY

From the New Baby Spanish/English Edition series , Vol. 4

A new baby in the family can be a stressful time for an older sibling. This charming bilingual (English/Spanish) title and its series companions address such moments.

Simple conversational text and warm, colorful illustrations outlined in black represent situations young children will easily relate to. In this book, a pregnant mother and child in an interracial family get ready for the baby’s arrival by reading books, sorting through clothes, visiting the doctor, and decorating the room. In My New Baby / Mi Nuevo bebé, a child interacts with the newborn, eagerly asking questions as the family goes through the daily routine. Familiar situations include the baby nursing, getting dressed, and going for a walk. This family is an all-white one. In You and Me / Tú y yo, an older sibling contends with a baby now old enough to be giggle-inducing yet also a nuisance. Baby cries, pulls hair, and knocks over toys—but also quietly snuggles up for a book to be read. This family has light-brown skin and may be headed by a single mom. In Look at Me! / ¡Mírame!, a child in an all-black family discovers the joys of maturity by using a potty, going down a slide unaided, and making baby smile by playing peekaboo (here the British term “Peep-o!” is used).

Given the dearth of such titles, Spanish-speaking families especially will find the series helpful. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: May 1, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-78628-150-0

Page Count: 12

Publisher: Child's Play

Review Posted Online: May 14, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an...

I AM A BIG BROTHER

A little boy exults in his new role as big brother.

Rhyming text describes the arrival of a new baby and all of the big brother’s rewarding new duties. He gets to help with feedings, diaper changes, playtime, bathtime, and naptime. Though the rhyming couplets can sometimes feel a bit forced and awkward, the sentiment is sweet, as the focus here never veers from the excitement and love a little boy feels for his tiny new sibling. The charming, uncluttered illustrations convincingly depict the growing bond between this fair-skinned, rosy-cheeked, smiling pair of boys. In the final pages, the parents, heretofore kept mostly out of view, are pictured holding the children. The accompanying text reads: “Mommy, Daddy, baby, me. / We love each other—a family!” In companion volume I Am a Big Sister, the little boy is replaced with a little girl with bows in her hair. Some of the colors and patterns in the illustrations are slightly altered, but it is essentially the same title.

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an older sibling can do to help. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: Jan. 27, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-545-68886-4

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Cartwheel/Scholastic

Review Posted Online: March 17, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A must-read for mothers of young children (and their kids, too).

MAMA NEEDS A MINUTE

The story shows all of the ways a mother loves and cares for her children while also needing to take care of herself.

Sloan writes what mothers feel: “This mama needs a minute.” There are books that prepare children for their first day of school, potty training, siblings, and many of life’s earliest milestones. In that tradition, Sloan’s book shows kids how mothers can both love and care for them and also need a little space. She writes, “It doesn’t mean I love you less. Sometimes it just means Mama needs to get dressed.” Truer words have never been written. Sloan simultaneously affirms a mother’s love while also deftly explaining that it’s OK for love to need boundaries—for parents, yes, but also for kids. The comics-style illustrations hit home, like the stubble-legged mama trying to snag a minute to shower. This goes beyond ringing chords with adult readers; it also provides concrete examples of when mama needs that minute. The palette includes pinks, greens, and bright blues, and all of the characters have skin of many nonhuman colors; hair is likewise fancifully colored but always straight. Many of the moms have visible tattoos, a refreshingly realistic detail.

A must-read for mothers of young children (and their kids, too). (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-5248-5457-7

Page Count: 16

Publisher: Andrews McMeel

Review Posted Online: Jan. 21, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more