Next book


From the Supernatural Society series , Vol. 1

A fun, interactive read for lovers of the supernatural.

Will’s new town is filled with monsters, mythical creatures, and secrets, but hardly anyone believes him.

When his dad left, life was upended. Now Will and his mom are leaving New York City to move to Massachusetts, far from everything familiar. To his mom, East Emerson is a nice town where they can start fresh, but Will sees unearthly beings and wants to leave. When he’s magically transported to a cemetery and witnesses a terrifying ritual, a mystical fox chants a command to him: “find the animals, destroy the crown. Save the animals, and save the town.” At first Will thinks it was just a nightmare, but when the townspeople’s pets begin to disappear, he starts to suspect something evil is at play. He connects with his new neighbors, adopted siblings Ivy, an athletic girl who can also see monsters, and her genius brother, Linus, who are, respectively, Korean and Black. Together, Will (whose mom is Latina and father is implied White) and his new friends uncover the town’s spooky, mysterious history. This is a fast-paced, exciting first installment in a fantastical series filled with “monsters, myths, magic, and mad science.” Although there are scary parts, the monster narrator interrupts the story to address readers directly, introducing comedic relief. Readers can decipher codes and secret messages throughout the story, adding to the mystery and thrill. Themes of family, navigating change, poverty, listening to feelings, and finding courage are also present.

A fun, interactive read for lovers of the supernatural. (Paranormal. 8-12)

Pub Date: Feb. 1, 2022

ISBN: 978-1-335-42487-7

Page Count: 208

Publisher: Inkyard Press

Review Posted Online: Aug. 30, 2022

Next book


From the Wild Robot series , Vol. 3

Hugely entertaining, timely, and triumphant.

Robot Roz undertakes an unusual ocean journey to save her adopted island home in this third series entry.

When a poison tide flowing across the ocean threatens their island, Roz works with the resident creatures to ensure that they will have clean water, but the destruction of vegetation and crowding of habitats jeopardize everyone’s survival. Brown’s tale of environmental depredation and turmoil is by turns poignant, graceful, endearing, and inspiring, with his (mostly) gentle robot protagonist at its heart. Though Roz is different from the creatures she lives with or encounters—including her son, Brightbill the goose, and his new mate, Glimmerwing—she makes connections through her versatile communication abilities and her desire to understand and help others. When Roz accidentally discovers that the replacement body given to her by Dr. Molovo is waterproof, she sets out to seek help and discovers the human-engineered source of the toxic tide. Brown’s rich descriptions of undersea landscapes, entertaining conversations between Roz and wild creatures, and concise yet powerful explanations of the effect of the poison tide on the ecology of the island are superb. Simple, spare illustrations offer just enough glimpses of Roz and her surroundings to spark the imagination. The climactic confrontation pits oceangoing mammals, seabirds, fish, and even zooplankton against hardware and technology in a nicely choreographed battle. But it is Roz’s heroism and peacemaking that save the day.

Hugely entertaining, timely, and triumphant. (author’s note) (Fiction. 8-12)

Pub Date: Sept. 26, 2023

ISBN: 9780316669412

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Little, Brown

Review Posted Online: Aug. 26, 2023

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2023

Next book


From the One and Only series , Vol. 4

Not the most satisfying wrap-up, but it’s always good to spend time in the world of this series.

Beloved gorilla Ivan becomes a father to rambunctious twins in this finale to a quartet that began with 2012’s Newbery Award–winning The One and Only Ivan.

Life hasn’t always been easy for silverback gorilla Ivan, who’s spent most of his life being mistreated in captivity. Now he’s living in a wildlife sanctuary, but he still gets to see his two best friends. Young elephant Ruby lives in the grassy habitat next door, and former stray dog Bob has a home with one of the zookeepers. All three were rescued from the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade. Ivan’s expanded world includes fellow gorilla Kinyani—the two are about to become parents, and Ivan is revisiting the traumas of his past in light of what he wants the twins to know. When the subject inevitably comes up, Applegate’s trust and respect for readers is evident. She doesn’t shy away from hard truths as Ivan wrestles with the fact that poachers killed his family. Readers will need the context provided by knowledge of the earlier books to feel the full emotional impact of this story. The rushed ending unfortunately falls flat, detracting from the central message that a complex life can still contain hope. Final art not seen.

Not the most satisfying wrap-up, but it’s always good to spend time in the world of this series. (gorilla games, glossary, author’s note) (Verse fiction. 8-12)

Pub Date: May 7, 2024

ISBN: 9780063221123

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Harper/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: March 9, 2024

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 2024

Close Quickview