Next book


Explores changes that come with the transition to middle school but is marred by stereotyping.

While forging their own identities, brother and sister twins uncover family secrets.

With names that are nods to country music icons, twins Loretta and Waylon will be starting middle school in the fall and for the first time attending separate classes. They both have plans for the summer: Movie enthusiast Loretta, perpetual protector of her smaller-sized brother, plans to toughen him up; survival-story fan Waylon wants to prove he can defend himself. The siblings narrate in alternating chapters, addressing readers directly at times, and their stories blend when they stumble upon a clearing in the woods that they name the Circle of Stones. After meeting home-schooled Louie, whose mother is deemed “crazy” by the locals, Loretta and Waylon reference Indigenous coming-of-age ceremonies and include Louie in a series of their own rituals. These are meant to honor Forest Spirits, their name for what they believe are the spirits of unspecified people who explored these woods long ago. These invented ceremonies, along with mentions of such cultural elements as dream catchers, wigwams, and counting coup, recur in the narrative in ways that evoke exoticizing stereotypes of Native peoples. While conducting these rituals, Loretta and Waylon discover family connections and begin to understand the mental health issues that trouble Louie’s mother. Additional storylines involving school bullies and first crushes converge in a trite conclusion. Main characters read as White.

Explores changes that come with the transition to middle school but is marred by stereotyping. (Fiction. 8-12)

Pub Date: Aug. 9, 2022

ISBN: 978-0-593-37614-0

Page Count: 240

Publisher: Delacorte

Review Posted Online: May 24, 2022

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2022

Next book


From the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series , Vol. 14

Readers can still rely on this series to bring laughs.

The Heffley family’s house undergoes a disastrous attempt at home improvement.

When Great Aunt Reba dies, she leaves some money to the family. Greg’s mom calls a family meeting to determine what to do with their share, proposing home improvements and then overruling the family’s cartoonish wish lists and instead pushing for an addition to the kitchen. Before bringing in the construction crew, the Heffleys attempt to do minor maintenance and repairs themselves—during which Greg fails at the work in various slapstick scenes. Once the professionals are brought in, the problems keep getting worse: angry neighbors, terrifying problems in walls, and—most serious—civil permitting issues that put the kibosh on what work’s been done. Left with only enough inheritance to patch and repair the exterior of the house—and with the school’s dismal standardized test scores as a final straw—Greg’s mom steers the family toward moving, opening up house-hunting and house-selling storylines (and devastating loyal Rowley, who doesn’t want to lose his best friend). While Greg’s positive about the move, he’s not completely uncaring about Rowley’s action. (And of course, Greg himself is not as unaffected as he wishes.) The gags include effectively placed callbacks to seemingly incidental events (the “stress lizard” brought in on testing day is particularly funny) and a lampoon of after-school-special–style problem books. Just when it seems that the Heffleys really will move, a new sequence of chaotic trouble and property destruction heralds a return to the status quo. Whew.

Readers can still rely on this series to bring laughs. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 8-12)

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-4197-3903-3

Page Count: 224

Publisher: Amulet/Abrams

Review Posted Online: Nov. 18, 2019

Next book


From the One and Only series , Vol. 4

Not the most satisfying wrap-up, but it’s always good to spend time in the world of this series.

Beloved gorilla Ivan becomes a father to rambunctious twins in this finale to a quartet that began with 2012’s Newbery Award–winning The One and Only Ivan.

Life hasn’t always been easy for silverback gorilla Ivan, who’s spent most of his life being mistreated in captivity. Now he’s living in a wildlife sanctuary, but he still gets to see his two best friends. Young elephant Ruby lives in the grassy habitat next door, and former stray dog Bob has a home with one of the zookeepers. All three were rescued from the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade. Ivan’s expanded world includes fellow gorilla Kinyani—the two are about to become parents, and Ivan is revisiting the traumas of his past in light of what he wants the twins to know. When the subject inevitably comes up, Applegate’s trust and respect for readers is evident. She doesn’t shy away from hard truths as Ivan wrestles with the fact that poachers killed his family. Readers will need the context provided by knowledge of the earlier books to feel the full emotional impact of this story. The rushed ending unfortunately falls flat, detracting from the central message that a complex life can still contain hope. Final art not seen.

Not the most satisfying wrap-up, but it’s always good to spend time in the world of this series. (gorilla games, glossary, author’s note) (Verse fiction. 8-12)

Pub Date: May 7, 2024

ISBN: 9780063221123

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Harper/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: March 9, 2024

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 2024

Close Quickview