A thought-provoking call to revamp the office by incorporating the surprisingly compatible elements of yoga.

READ REVIEW

THINKING JUST HURTS THE TEAM

FIND HAPPINESS AND IGNITE YOUR FULL POTENTIAL BY TAKING THE PRINCIPLES OF YOGA TO THE WORKPLACE

A debut guide advocates a meditation-infused approach for the business world.

Roberts constructs her book around what appears at first glance to be an unworkable strategy: adapting the outlook and principles of yoga, where stillness and mindfulness are prized above all, to the business domain, where hard-charging attitudes and practical momentum usually rule the day. The manual’s seemingly conflicted title signals this contrast; as Roberts puts it, “When you overthink things, you disrupt your ability to find your flow.” The key concepts that make this confluence possible, as the author concisely but patiently lays out in the course of her book, are calm and communication—that by working to create a quiet, inner space through “hot” meditation, she’s able to center herself and facilitate the action required by the various management roles in which she’s found herself. Her guide is fleshed out with both extensive glimpses of her own autobiography and wide-ranging echoes and hints of other self-help and business motivation works she’s read. The latter often becomes the manual’s main weakness. The volume displays a penchant for clichés like “just do it” or “be careful what you wish for, because it might just come true,” and a willingness to repeat the kind of self-evident nonsense that’s unfortunately a staple of the genre, as when The Game of Numbers author Nick Murray is quoted saying lines like “We can always learn by doing. We can never do by learning.” Luckily, the bulk of the book is a thoughtful exploration of the sometimes-startling benefits to be derived from importing Eastern meditation viewpoints to the office and the boardroom—and how the yoga and business worlds are in fact more similar than most readers would believe. Roberts points out, for example, that in both realms the old rule of “garbage in, garbage out” is true.

A thought-provoking call to revamp the office by incorporating the surprisingly compatible elements of yoga.

Pub Date: Sept. 29, 2017

ISBN: 978-1-4808-5026-2

Page Count: 160

Publisher: Archway Publishing

Review Posted Online: Feb. 22, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Doyle offers another lucid, inspiring chronicle of female empowerment and the rewards of self-awareness and renewal.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

UNTAMED

More life reflections from the bestselling author on themes of societal captivity and the catharsis of personal freedom.

In her third book, Doyle (Love Warrior, 2016, etc.) begins with a life-changing event. “Four years ago,” she writes, “married to the father of my three children, I fell in love with a woman.” That woman, Abby Wambach, would become her wife. Emblematically arranged into three sections—“Caged,” “Keys,” “Freedom”—the narrative offers, among other elements, vignettes about the soulful author’s girlhood, when she was bulimic and felt like a zoo animal, a “caged girl made for wide-open skies.” She followed the path that seemed right and appropriate based on her Catholic upbringing and adolescent conditioning. After a downward spiral into “drinking, drugging, and purging,” Doyle found sobriety and the authentic self she’d been suppressing. Still, there was trouble: Straining an already troubled marriage was her husband’s infidelity, which eventually led to life-altering choices and the discovery of a love she’d never experienced before. Throughout the book, Doyle remains open and candid, whether she’s admitting to rigging a high school homecoming court election or denouncing the doting perfectionism of “cream cheese parenting,” which is about “giving your children the best of everything.” The author’s fears and concerns are often mirrored by real-world issues: gender roles and bias, white privilege, racism, and religion-fueled homophobia and hypocrisy. Some stories merely skim the surface of larger issues, but Doyle revisits them in later sections and digs deeper, using friends and familial references to personify their impact on her life, both past and present. Shorter pieces, some only a page in length, manage to effectively translate an emotional gut punch, as when Doyle’s therapist called her blooming extramarital lesbian love a “dangerous distraction.” Ultimately, the narrative is an in-depth look at a courageous woman eager to share the wealth of her experiences by embracing vulnerability and reclaiming her inner strength and resiliency.

Doyle offers another lucid, inspiring chronicle of female empowerment and the rewards of self-awareness and renewal.

Pub Date: March 10, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9848-0125-8

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Dial Books

Review Posted Online: Dec. 22, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

Readers unfamiliar with the anecdotal material Greene presents may find interesting avenues to pursue, but they should...

MASTERY

Greene (The 33 Strategies of War, 2007, etc.) believes that genius can be learned if we pay attention and reject social conformity.

The author suggests that our emergence as a species with stereoscopic, frontal vision and sophisticated hand-eye coordination gave us an advantage over earlier humans and primates because it allowed us to contemplate a situation and ponder alternatives for action. This, along with the advantages conferred by mirror neurons, which allow us to intuit what others may be thinking, contributed to our ability to learn, pass on inventions to future generations and improve our problem-solving ability. Throughout most of human history, we were hunter-gatherers, and our brains are engineered accordingly. The author has a jaundiced view of our modern technological society, which, he writes, encourages quick, rash judgments. We fail to spend the time needed to develop thorough mastery of a subject. Greene writes that every human is “born unique,” with specific potential that we can develop if we listen to our inner voice. He offers many interesting but tendentious examples to illustrate his theory, including Einstein, Darwin, Mozart and Temple Grandin. In the case of Darwin, Greene ignores the formative intellectual influences that shaped his thought, including the discovery of geological evolution with which he was familiar before his famous voyage. The author uses Grandin's struggle to overcome autistic social handicaps as a model for the necessity for everyone to create a deceptive social mask.

Readers unfamiliar with the anecdotal material Greene presents may find interesting avenues to pursue, but they should beware of the author's quirky, sometimes misleading brush-stroke characterizations.

Pub Date: Nov. 13, 2012

ISBN: 978-0-670-02496-4

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Viking

Review Posted Online: Sept. 13, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2012

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more