A tender, inspiring, and courageous true story.

BECOMING KID QUIXOTE

A TRUE STORY OF BELONGING IN AMERICA

A shy girl takes on the world through her acting.

For Sarah Sierra, a 10-year-old Mexican American girl from Brooklyn, her after-school program Still Waters in a Storm is the perfect haven. Though she considers herself a shy person, at Still Waters Sarah sings, writes, and acts along with other children and teenagers. To Sarah’s surprise she is also able to easily identify with her character, Kid Quixote, as they adapt and update Miguel de Cervantes’ 400-year-old novel, Don Quixote de la Mancha. The adapted play is then performed in a serialized format throughout New York and the country. Inspired by their pen pals from Immigration and Customs Enforcement facilities, the actors at Still Waters often include immigration in their work. For example, Sarah uses a stuffed horse as Rocinante, Quixote’s faithful steed, to rescue an undocumented farm worker who hasn’t been paid fair wages. In this young reader’s companion to Kid Quixotes (2020) by Stephen Haff (creator and director at Still Waters), Sarah recounts, with help from Haff, her creative process and how she uses her experiences at Still Waters to decipher and overcome real-world challenges. Through this empathetic and inspiring account of the imagination, triumphs, and worries of a child of immigrants, readers will be constantly reminded of the importance of stories to the triumph over and processing of difficult experiences.

A tender, inspiring, and courageous true story. (Memoir. 7-12)

Pub Date: April 21, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-294326-2

Page Count: 208

Publisher: Harper/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Jan. 12, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

With young readers diagnosed with anxiety in ever increasing numbers, this book offers a necessary mirror to many.

GUTS

Young Raina is 9 when she throws up for the first time that she remembers, due to a stomach bug. Even a year later, when she is in fifth grade, she fears getting sick.

Raina begins having regular stomachaches that keep her home from school. She worries about sharing food with her friends and eating certain kinds of foods, afraid of getting sick or food poisoning. Raina’s mother enrolls her in therapy. At first Raina isn’t sure about seeing a therapist, but over time she develops healthy coping mechanisms to deal with her stress and anxiety. Her therapist helps her learn to ground herself and relax, and in turn she teaches her classmates for a school project. Amping up the green, wavy lines to evoke Raina’s nausea, Telgemeier brilliantly produces extremely accurate visual representations of stress and anxiety. Thought bubbles surround Raina in some panels, crowding her with anxious “what if”s, while in others her negative self-talk appears to be literally crushing her. Even as she copes with anxiety disorder and what is eventually diagnosed as mild irritable bowel syndrome, she experiences the typical stresses of school life, going from cheer to panic in the blink of an eye. Raina is white, and her classmates are diverse; one best friend is Korean American.

With young readers diagnosed with anxiety in ever increasing numbers, this book offers a necessary mirror to many. (Graphic memoir. 8-12)

Pub Date: Sept. 17, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-545-85251-7

Page Count: 224

Publisher: Graphix/Scholastic

Review Posted Online: May 12, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important

BEST FRIENDS

After traveling the rocky road of elementary school friendship in Real Friends (2017), Hale returns with another graphic memoir delving even deeper into preteen tribulations.

Now in sixth grade, young Shannon is a member of “the Group,” an assortment of popular and pretty girls that most notably includes best friend and group ringleader Jen and unrelenting mean-girl Jenny. However, infighting and treachery proliferate, leaving Shannon feeling frequently off balance as she strives to fit in and suppresses things she enjoys. She captures the dynamic brilliantly: “Sixth grade friendships were like a game… / only as soon as I’d figure out the rules… / they’d change again.” In addition to laying bare the back-stabbing and cattiness, Hale also examines her struggles with anxiety and obsessive-compulsive tendencies with openness and honesty. Shannon’s story is ultimately empowering, showing the satisfaction she feels following her own path. Hale and illustrator Pham (working with colorist Sycamore) capture the nuances of a typical middle school life, balancing Shannon’s public woes with her inner conflicts and adding a fun dose of 1980s nostalgia. Pham’s art is evocative in its simplicity; detailed facial expressions add emotional depth and accessibility for even the most reluctant readers. An author’s note talks earnestly and age-appropriately about anxiety. Consider this a must-read for fans of Raina Telegmeier or Victoria Jamieson. Hale and her friends are predominately white, although students of color are present throughout.

This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important . (Graphic memoir. 7-12)

Pub Date: Aug. 27, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-250-31745-2

Page Count: 256

Publisher: First Second

Review Posted Online: May 22, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

more