Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Reviews

WEAVE A CIRCLE ROUND by Kari Maaren
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017

"A charming, extraordinarily relatable book with the potential to become a timeless classic."
A Canadian teenager learns about herself—and the fabric of the universe—when she goes traveling in time with an immortal 14-year-old. Read full book review >
EVALENE'S NUMBER by Bethany  Atazadeh
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 3, 2017

"A rigorous apocalyptic backdrop and versatile characters supply seemingly endless avenues for further volumes to explore."
In this YA sci-fi debut and the start of a series, a teen receives an unexpected ranking in a distant future, leading her to question the system's fairness. Read full book review >

THE WILL TO BATTLE by Ada Palmer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 5, 2017

"Still intriguing and worth pursuing, but the strain may be beginning to show."
A stagnant, complacent Earth faces war in the 25th century in the third of an ongoing science-fantasy series (Seven Surrenders, 2017, etc.). Read full book review >
COUNT TO INFINITY  by John C. Wright
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 26, 2017

"Intriguing, astounding stuff, though likely to appeal only to those who've read Wright's previous installments."
Curious to learn why our universe, at the largest scale, consists of clumps and filaments of matter interspersed with enormous voids—and have several billion years at your disposal? Draw up a chair. Wright has all the answers. Read full book review >
EVERLESS by Sara Holland
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 2, 2018

"Utterly absorbing; a must for fans of Sarah J. Maas' Throne of Glass (2012) and its sequels. (Fantasy. 13-adult)"
After banishment as a child, a girl must brave a treacherous estate to save her father and unearth her past. Read full book review >

BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by Amanda Hocking
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 2, 2018

"Though mythologically scattershot, the magical worldbuilding is a boon for an otherwise quick-reading but insubstantial story. (Fantasy. 13-adult)"
A Valkyrie uncovers damage to the balance between mortals and immortals. Read full book review >
BLACK STAR RENEGADES by Michael Moreci
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 2, 2018

"As they say in the movies, the Black Star Renegades will return."
A young space warrior must combat the forces of evil to bring peace and justice to the universe. Read full book review >
THE GIRL IN THE TOWER by Katherine Arden
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"A compelling, fast-moving story that grounds fantasy elements in a fascinating period of Russian history."
An impetuous young woman disguises herself as a boy and rides a mysterious horse through a lush and forbidding version of medieval Russia in the second novel in a proposed trilogy. Read full book review >
SINLESS  by Sarah Tarkoff
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Clever worldbuilding elevates the story above its occasional moral ham-handedness, and the plot is juicy enough to carry readers to the sequel."
Tarkoff's debut novel follows a young woman's coming-of-age in a dystopic near future where moral character and physical beauty go hand in hand...or do they? Read full book review >
DARK STATE by Charles Stross
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Sheer brilliance: when Stross is in this mood, nobody else comes close."
This sequel to Empire Games (2017), set in the same world as Stross' Merchant Princes series, plunges us deep into a nightmarish clash of arms, politics, and wills between near-future governments in alternate timelines. Read full book review >
THUNDERHEAD by Neal Shusterman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 9, 2018

"Fear the reaper(s)…but relish this intelligent and entertaining blend of dark humor and high death tolls. (Science fiction. 14-adult)"
Death proves impermanent in this sequel to Scythe (2016). Read full book review >
GNOMON by Nick Harkaway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 11, 2018

"Fans of Pynchon and William Gibson alike will devour this smart, expertly written bit of literary subversion."
Beguiling, multilayered, sprawling novel that blends elements of Philip K. Dick-tinged sci-fi, mystery, politics, and literary fiction in a most satisfying brew. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >