Awards & Accolades

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

Next book

ONE NIGHT ONLY

An overstuffed but absorbing novel about the price of fame.

Awards & Accolades

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

A troubled rock star struggles with the double whammy of drug addiction and cancer in Knudsen’s novel.

On the night of what’s supposed to be her last show ever, struggling musician Sky Black runs into a 17-year-old boy named Sam behind Vancouver’s Imperial Theatre, in an alleyway home to “the destitute and addicted.” Though she already has plenty to deal with—an agonizing pain in her throat, the impending end of her career, and a heartbreak she can’t shake—Sky, three years into addiction recovery herself, sees something in Sam and invites him to watch the show. As it turns out, Sam isn’t the only unexpected guest that night: Rod Birk, an executive from Space Monkey Records, stops by and is immediately captivated by Sky’s performance. Birk rushes to sign her to the label, injecting new life into her career. Sam, who happens to be a talented guitarist, joins Sky’s band and is swept up in the excitement. Sky even begins to reconnect with Joe, her ex-boyfriend and former bandmate. But just as everything seems to be falling into place for her, she’s diagnosed with laryngeal cancer. Against medical advice, she refuses treatment in order to keep performing. The pain and stress of her condition, coupled with the ceaseless demands of her newfound stardom, push her ever closer to her previous excesses. Knudsen’s novel is tense and unrelenting; the author masterfully creates an immersive, claustrophobic atmosphere as Sky’s health, relationships, and sense of self become increasingly strained. Sky remains a likable, if flawed, protagonist throughout, and readers will find themselves rooting for her even as she makes questionable decisions. Though the story is engaging, however, it’s not particularly innovative—the plot is fairly formulaic, and the supporting characters, namely Sam and Joe, are underdeveloped. In trying to incorporate both of their storylines, Knudsen falls short in affording either ample attention, lessening their emotional impact.

An overstuffed but absorbing novel about the price of fame.

Pub Date: July 11, 2024

ISBN: 9781068850523

Page Count: 326

Publisher: N/A

Review Posted Online: June 4, 2024

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 1, 2024

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 176


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller

Next book

THE WOMEN

A dramatic, vividly detailed reconstruction of a little-known aspect of the Vietnam War.

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 176


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller

A young woman’s experience as a nurse in Vietnam casts a deep shadow over her life.

When we learn that the farewell party in the opening scene is for Frances “Frankie” McGrath’s older brother—“a golden boy, a wild child who could make the hardest heart soften”—who is leaving to serve in Vietnam in 1966, we feel pretty certain that poor Finley McGrath is marked for death. Still, it’s a surprise when the fateful doorbell rings less than 20 pages later. His death inspires his sister to enlist as an Army nurse, and this turn of events is just the beginning of a roller coaster of a plot that’s impressive and engrossing if at times a bit formulaic. Hannah renders the experiences of the young women who served in Vietnam in all-encompassing detail. The first half of the book, set in gore-drenched hospital wards, mildewed dorm rooms, and boozy officers’ clubs, is an exciting read, tracking the transformation of virginal, uptight Frankie into a crack surgical nurse and woman of the world. Her tensely platonic romance with a married surgeon ends when his broken, unbreathing body is airlifted out by helicopter; she throws her pent-up passion into a wild affair with a soldier who happens to be her dead brother’s best friend. In the second part of the book, after the war, Frankie seems to experience every possible bad break. A drawback of the story is that none of the secondary characters in her life are fully three-dimensional: Her dismissive, chauvinistic father and tight-lipped, pill-popping mother, her fellow nurses, and her various love interests are more plot devices than people. You’ll wish you could have gone to Vegas and placed a bet on the ending—while it’s against all the odds, you’ll see it coming from a mile away.

A dramatic, vividly detailed reconstruction of a little-known aspect of the Vietnam War.

Pub Date: Feb. 6, 2024

ISBN: 9781250178633

Page Count: 480

Publisher: St. Martin's

Review Posted Online: Nov. 4, 2023

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2023

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 17


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller

Next book

SWAN SONG

Though Hilderbrand threatens to kill all our darlings with this last laugh, her acknowledgments say it’s just “for now.”

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 17


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller

A stranger comes to town, and a beloved storyteller plays this creative-writing standby for all it’s worth.

Hilderbrand fans, a vast and devoted legion, will remember Blond Sharon, the notorious island gossip. In what is purportedly the last of the Nantucket novels, Blond Sharon decides to pursue her lifelong dream of fiction writing. In the collective opinion of the island—aka the “cobblestone telegraph”—she’s qualified. “Well, we think, she’s certainly demonstrated her keen interest in other people’s stories, the seedier and more salacious, the better.” Blond Sharon’s first assignment in her online creative writing class is to create a two-person character study, and Hilderbrand has her write up the two who arrive on the ferry in an opening scene of the book, using the same descriptors Hilderbrand has. Amusingly, the class is totally unimpressed. “‘I found it predictable,’ Willow said. ‘Like maybe Sharon used ChatGPT with the prompt “Write a character study about two women getting off the ferry, one prep and one punk.”’” Blond Sharon abandons these characters, but Hilderbrand thankfully does not. They are Kacy Kapenash, daughter of retiring police chief Ed Kapenash (the other swan song referred to by the title), and her new friend Coco Coyle, who has given up her bartending job in the Virgin Islands to become a “personal concierge” for the other strangers-who-have-come-to-town. These are the Richardsons, Bull and Leslee, a wild and wealthy couple who have purchased a $22 million beachfront property and plan to take Nantucket by storm. As the book opens, their house has burned down during an end-of-summer party on their yacht, and Coco is missing, feared both responsible for the fire and dead. Though it’s the last weekend of his tenure, Chief Ed refuses to let the incoming chief, Zara Washington, take this one over. The investigation goes forward in parallel with a review of the summer’s intrigues, love affairs, and festivities. Whatever else you can say about Leslee Richardson, she knows how to throw a party, and Hilderbrand is just the writer to design her invitations, menus, themes, playlists, and outfits. And that hot tub!

Though Hilderbrand threatens to kill all our darlings with this last laugh, her acknowledgments say it’s just “for now.”

Pub Date: June 11, 2024

ISBN: 9780316258876

Page Count: 384

Publisher: Little, Brown

Review Posted Online: March 9, 2024

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 2024

Close Quickview