A silly and fast-paced adventure that’s sure to appeal to pet lovers.

WEDGIE & GIZMO VS. THE TOOF

Wedgie, a slow-witted, exuberantly enthusiastic dog, and Gizmo, a conniving, Evil Genius guinea pig, share their newly blended household with Jasmine and Jackson, and their stepsib, Elliot.

Wedgie, generating a little good-natured bathroom humor, lives in the moment, savoring Gizmo poop just as much as a stolen muffin. Gizmo is a schemer in this, their second adventure, as he finds a way to acquire a drone he can ride by simply ordering it on the internet. In another plotline, Jasmine is jealous of Elliot’s trophies and is determined to get one of her own by winning a school pet contest with Wedgie. Pinkie, a pig that’s just moved in, presents some competition, especially since Wedgie isn’t much of a thinker and Pinkie knows plenty of tricks. Although Gizmo’s thwarted in his scheme to shrink Wedgie and Pinkie in the dryer, the arrival of his drone offers new opportunities. Only Abuela, Jasmine and Jackson’s elderly grandmother from Peru, is on to Gizmo’s schemes, and she proves to be an enabler, bringing the drone to the pet contest so that Gizmo can create the havoc he aspires to, with Wedgie saving the day. The brief text is liberally sprinkled with Fisinger’s lively illustrations, which depict this blended family as an interracial one.

A silly and fast-paced adventure that’s sure to appeal to pet lovers. (Fantasy. 7-10)

Pub Date: April 17, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-06-244765-4

Page Count: 192

Publisher: Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Feb. 4, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse.

MEET THE BIGFEET

From the Yeti Files series , Vol. 1

It’s a Bigfeet family reunion!

Everyone’s favorite frosty, furry cryptid, the yeti, actually has a name: Blizz Richards. From his supersecret HQ in Nepal he keeps in touch with his fellow cryptids, all of whom have sworn an oath to keep themselves hidden. That’s not always easy, especially when there are cryptozoologists, like the nasty (but bumbling) George Vanquist, who are always trying to expose the secretive creatures. Vanquist got a picture of Blizz’s cousin Brian near his home in British Columbia, causing the mortified Brian to disappear entirely. When Blizz receives an invitation to a Bigfeet family reunion in Canada, he calls his buddies Alexander (one of Santa’s elves), Gunthar (a goblin) and Frank the Arctic fox to help him get ready. When they arrive in Canada, Brian is still nowhere to be seen. Can Blizz and his skunk ape and other sasquatch cousins find Brian, have the reunion and evade Vanquist? If anyone can, the Bigfeet clan can. Illustrator Sherry’s first volume in the Yeti Files is a fast and funny graphic-prose tale full of labeled pictures and comic-style panels. Those just starting chapter books may have some trouble with a few big words, but they’ll enjoy the big friendly monsters and immediately ask for the next tale—which looks to be about the Loch Ness monster.

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)

Pub Date: Sept. 30, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-545-55617-0

Page Count: 128

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: May 28, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A dramatic, educational, authentic whale of a tale.

A WHALE OF THE WILD

After a tsunami devastates their habitat in the Salish Sea, a young orca and her brother embark on a remarkable adventure.

Vega’s matriarchal family expects her to become a hunter and wayfinder, with her younger brother, Deneb, protecting and supporting her. Invited to guide her family to their Gathering Place to hunt salmon, Vega’s underwater miscalculations endanger them all, and an embarrassed Vega questions whether she should be a wayfinder. When the baby sister she hoped would become her life companion is stillborn, a distraught Vega carries the baby away to a special resting place, shocking her grieving family. Dispatched to find his missing sister, Deneb locates Vega in the midst of a terrible tsunami. To escape the waters polluted by shattered boats, Vega leads Deneb into unfamiliar open sea. Alone and hungry, the young siblings encounter a spectacular giant whale and travel briefly with shark-hunting orcas. Trusting her instincts and gaining emotional strength from contemplating the vastness of the sky, Vega knows she must lead her brother home and help save her surviving family. In alternating first-person voices, Vega and Deneb tell their harrowing story, engaging young readers while educating them about the marine ecosystem. Realistic black-and-white illustrations enhance the maritime setting.

A dramatic, educational, authentic whale of a tale. (maps, wildlife facts, tribes of the Salish Sea watershed, environmental and geographical information, how to help orcas, author’s note, artist’s note, resources) (Animal fiction. 8-10)

Pub Date: Sept. 1, 2020

ISBN: 978-0-06-299592-6

Page Count: 240

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Review Posted Online: July 1, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

more