Books by Adam Nicolson

Adam Nicolson has been both a publisher and a travel writer, and is the author of many award-winning books, including the recent Sea Room, about life on the Shiant Isles. He lives on a farm with his family near Burwash, England.


THE SEABIRD'S CRY by Adam Nicolson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A buoyant celebration of seabirds that serves as an important reminder of nature's fragility."
At home on sea, land, and in air, seabirds demonstrate grace, power, and amazing ingenuity. Read full book review >
WHY HOMER MATTERS by Adam Nicolson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 18, 2014

"Nicolson's spirited exploration illuminates our own indelible past."
An archaeology of the Homeric mind. Read full book review >
SISSINGHURST by Adam Nicolson
NON-FICTION
Released: May 10, 2010

"Though a tad defensive and self-congratulatory, the author emerges as a doughty steward of the land, and his family's legacy."
The grandson of poet Vita Sackville-West records the sometimes murky history of Sissinghurst, a Kent estate where the author grew up—and now lives again—and which he has endeavored to restore to its former status as a self-sustaining farm. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 4, 2008

"Clear and compelling popular history."
Informed account of the role played by the fabulously wealthy Herbert family in the years leading up to the English Civil War. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 11, 2005

"A well-reasoned transoceanic rejoinder to Joanne B. Freeman's Affairs of Honor (2001), and a pleasure for fans of Aubrey and Hornblower."
"Thank God, I have done my duty," quoth Lord Nelson moments before expiring in 1805 at the Battle of Trafalgar. In this vivid study, Nicolson (God's Secretaries, 2003) examines the weight of those words. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: April 12, 2005

"Nicolson catches grief from the captain for his disengaged ease and lack of seamanship, but his focus is on the wild margins, where land meets water and recalls so much ancient, human drama."
Nicolson (God's Secretaries, 2003, etc.), who has traveled extensively on British soil, takes to the Atlantic coast in this odyssey of island-hopping and psychic exploration. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2003

"Livelier and less scholarly than Alister McGrath's In the Beginning (2001): an engaging work of literary, cultural, and religious history."
British travel writer Nicolson (Sea Room, 2002, etc.) anatomizes the creation of the 1611 English-language Bible, perhaps the only work of art ever made by a committee. Read full book review >
SEA ROOM by Adam Nicolson
NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2001

"Nicolson's love letter to the Shiants is a summing-up, rich with history and curiosity, that is itself now also a part of the place. And the Shiants are the better for it. (58 b&w illustrations, 4 maps)"
A lovely biography of a place: the Shiants, in the Hebrides, are an island threesome of grass, wind, and birds that have had a long human presence and are sometimes the home of travel and environmental writer Nicolson. Read full book review >