Books by Caroline Leavitt

Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"A capable, readable, empathetic novel, yet its impact is minimal."
The new novel from an established chronicler of family crises explores secrets and bonds connecting two orphaned sisters and the "very distantly related" woman who raised them. Read full book review >
IS THIS TOMORROW by Caroline Leavitt
Released: May 7, 2013

"A moderately interesting story told in extremely broad strokes."
Two troubled families—are there any other kind in Leavitt's novels (Pictures of You, 2011, etc.)?—grapple to cope with a 12-year-old boy's disappearance. Read full book review >
PICTURES OF YOU by Caroline Leavitt
Released: Jan. 25, 2011

"Heartfelt (everyone cries), deft and highly readable fiction."
Tragedy leads to complicated love as a widower and the woman who accidentally killed his wife are united by a grieving child looking for an angel. Read full book review >
GIRLS IN TROUBLE by Caroline Leavitt
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"A sadly familiar tale by Leavitt (Coming Back to Me, 2001, etc.), though ably written in a straightforward style: likely to appeal to teenagers and their parents as well."
An open adoption goes awry, in an eighth outing by the Boston Globe columnist. Read full book review >
COMING BACK TO ME by Caroline Leavitt
Released: April 1, 2001

"Realistic, well-plotted, eminently readable portrait of a family in crisis—and an improvement on Leavitt's usual formula."
Lively melodrama from the author of six family-centric novels (Into Thin Air, 1993, etc.) in the vein of Jacquelyn Mitchard or Jane Hamilton. Read full book review >
INTO THIN AIR by Caroline Leavitt
Released: Feb. 16, 1993

"Some attractive prose, then, but beyond that the effect is anesthetizing."
More psychopathology as fiction by the author of Family (1987), Jealousies (1983), etc., this time about a troubled teen named Lee and the people she damages. Read full book review >