Books by David Cordingly

COCHRANE by David Cordingly
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Landlubbers may find this a lengthy voyage, but devotees of yarns about brave British tars will be delighted to be aboard."
Avast, Horatio Hornblower! Shove off, Jack Aubrey! Give way to a real life knee-breeched naval hero. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2003

"Solid and well-researched stuff, and a pleasure for fans of Patrick O'Brian, C.S. Forester, and other chroniclers of the fighting sail."
A satisfying tale of a mighty ship, and of a half-century under the mast in some of Europe's fiercest wars. Read full book review >
Released: March 2, 2001

"Competent, but of limited interest."
A serviceable examination of women's contributions to maritime history. Read full book review >
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Readers who do not mind a somewhat plodding pace will find a great deal that is surprising about the lives of these legendary men (and women). (16 pages b&w photos and maps, not seen) (Author tour)"
Cordingly, a former head of exhibitions at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, presents a no-frills picture of the early 18th century buccaneer, revealing the basis of our romantic conceptions of pirates. Read full book review >