Books by Hannah Shaw

THE GREAT DOG DISASTER by Katie Davies
Released: May 7, 2013

"Characteristically funny, this concludes a British series that has been a breath of fresh middle-grade air. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Intrepid 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle their latest pet challenge with customary ingenuity, elaborate plans and lists, and allies old (Mr. Tucker and Mrs. Rotherham) and young (Anna's cookie-loving brother, Tom). Read full book review >
THE GREAT CAT CONSPIRACY by Katie Davies
Released: May 1, 2012

"The subtle pathos that underlies the lighthearted humor throughout this series is prominent here; the astringent, sobering ending leaves readers with questions to ponder. (Fiction. 8-12) "
In their latest adventure, enterprising 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle dictatorship (parental veto on removing the walls separating their homes), animal disappearances (cats and the vicar's prized koi), clutter (Dad's) and hoarding (the Cat Lady's). Read full book review >
I DON'T BELIEVE IT, ARCHIE! by Andrew Norriss
Released: March 13, 2012

"A winning American debut from this well-established winner of England's Whitbread Award. (Fiction.7-10)"
Some are born to mayhem (Ivy + Bean come to mind), some achieve mayhem (Dav Pilkey's George and Harold)—and then there's Archie. Read full book review >
THE GREAT RABBIT RESCUE by Katie Davies
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A welcome return for the indomitable Anna. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Barely pausing from their labors, recounted in The Great Hamster Massacre (2011), Anna and Suzanne return to sow more mayhem. Read full book review >
THE GRIZZLY BEAR WITH THE FRIZZLY HAIR by Sean Taylor
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Ultimately, amiable but undistinguished. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Can the clever rabbit stop the hungry bear from eating him? Read full book review >
SCHOOL FOR BANDITS by Hannah Shaw
ANIMALS
Released: June 28, 2011

"Shaw has created a hero in Ralph for all those kids who don't fit in and aren't afraid to be who they are. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Good manners win out over bad in this hysterical spoof. Read full book review >
THE GREAT HAMSTER MASSACRE by Katie Davies
Released: May 3, 2011

"An auspicious debut, with a sequel (The Great Rabbit Rescue) waiting in the wings. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Ivy and Bean will enjoy meeting their counterparts across the Pond: best friends and next-door neighbors Anna and Suzanne. Read full book review >
NUMBER RHYMES by Opal Dunn
POETRY
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"Falling well short of its title, this collection just does not add up to the fun and learning of Dunn's previous Number Rhymes to Say and Play. (table of contents, index of first lines) (Nursery rhymes. 3-5)"
Thirteen rhymes invite readers to explore numbers and counting, three addressing the teens and one the tens. Read full book review >
THE SLEEP SHEEP by Anna McQuinn
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"A pleasant romp, wry and sweet. (Picture book. 3-6)"
McQuinn and Shaw breathe new life into an old saw—counting sheep—by matching an imaginative, wide-awake little girl with a large flock of peripatetic sheep far too busy to be counted. Read full book review >
CROCODILES ARE THE BEST ANIMALS OF ALL! by Sean Taylor
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

Identical in general import but, alas, far inferior in presentation to Kevin Sherry's exuberant I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007), this boastfest pairs stumbling rhymes to static jumbles of cartoon figures. Read full book review >