Books by Lisa Wheeler

DINO-WRESTLING by Lisa Wheeler
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Young wrestlers will find all the action and moves they are seeking within these pages, and the dinosaurs and rhymes are an added, entertaining bonus. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Wheeler, that rhyming dino-sports enthusiast, is back, this time with a survey of wrestling styles. Read full book review >
THE PET PROJECT by Lisa Wheeler
Released: April 2, 2012

"Children might prefer the hippo, but they'll have fun reading the poop jokes out loud to their parents again and again. (Picture book/poetry. 5-9)"
Let parents who find inspiration in this book think twice. Read full book review >
SPINSTER GOOSE by Lisa Wheeler
POETRY
Released: March 8, 2011

"Gorey kids. (Picture book/poetry. 8 & up)"
Delectably satiric nursery rhymes play with naughtiness and punishment. Read full book review >
DINO-BASKETBALL by Lisa Wheeler
DINOSAURS
Released: March 1, 2011

The team that brought us Dino-Baseball, -Soccer and -Hockey (2010, 2009, 2007) this time delivers nothing but net. Read full book review >
UGLY PIE by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2010

"Complete with its own ugly pie recipe, this yummy read-aloud will have readers itching to visit loved ones, play outside and make their own delectable dessert. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Craving some ugly pie, brown Ol' Bear traipses across the countryside, visiting friends. Read full book review >
BOOGIE KNIGHTS by Lisa Wheeler
FANTASY
Released: Aug. 5, 2008

"Siegel's tinted charcoal-and-pencil illustrations are charming and fun, and the energetic design is as movin' and groovin' as a Madcap Monster Ball should be. (Picture book. 4-8)"
"It is midnight, / and the moonlight's / shining down upon the moors / while the rascals / in the castle / jangle chains and rattle doors." Read full book review >
JAZZ BABY by Lisa Wheeler
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"Exultant and infectious, from the red-and-yellow-striped endpapers to the final "OH YEAH!" (Picture book. 3-6)"
A snappy rhyming text celebrates an extended family's joyous gyrations to the jazz spinning on the turntable. Read full book review >
DINO-HOCKEY by Lisa Wheeler
DINOSAURS
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"There's many a tale featuring dinosaurs playing, being pets and even dancing, but here's an activity far better suited to their red-in-tooth-and-claw natures. (Picture book. 6-8)"
It's prehistoric pandemonium on ice as the toothy Meat-Eaters (in red jerseys) and the tough Veggiesaurs (in green) face off in a wild championship game. Read full book review >
WHERE, OH WHERE, IS SANTA CLAUS? by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"A surefire success for Santa storytimes. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Where, oh where, is there a delightfully fresh Christmas story? Read full book review >
CASTAWAY CATS by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2006

"The story starts on the cover, and cat fans will beg to start again each time the book is closed. (Picture book. 2-7)"
"On an island / in the ocean / near the land of Singapore, / midst a storm of great proportion, / fifteen cats were washed ashore." Read full book review >
MAMMOTHS ON THE MOVE by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2006

With mountainous dignity, mammoths lumber across wide prehistoric landscapes as Wheeler traces their ancient annual round in verse: "Come colder days, those mammoth herds / migrated south, just like the birds. / Their menu had to be improved, / so mammoths packed their trunks and moved." Read full book review >
HOKEY POKEY by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"Cushion's rhymed song, which he sings with each dancing lesson, will have the audience humming along. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Barb the hedgehog loves to dance. Read full book review >
UNCLES AND ANTLERS by Lisa Wheeler
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Who wouldn't want to ride along? (Picture book. 5-7)"
The best answer yet to that perennial question: what do Santa's reindeer do during the off season? Read full book review >
FARMER DALE’S RED PICKUP TRUCK by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Luckily, this is one ride readers will look forward to taking over and over, allowing them to extract every bit of fun from the trip. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Plenty of wordplay and a rollicking rhythm turn a predictable plot into a practically perfect read-aloud. Read full book review >
FITCH & CHIP: WHO’S AFRAID OF GRANNY WOLF? by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2004

"Though this makes a fine addition to a successful easy-reader series, it will also work well with fairy-tale studies in early elementary classrooms. (Easy reader. 6-8)"
Fitch the wolf and Chip the pig return for a third easy-reader adventure together, this time with a humorous fractured fairy-tale twist. Read full book review >
BUBBLE GUM, BUBBLE GUM by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2004

"Huliska-Beith's illustrations in acrylic, cloth, and paper are bright and wacky in this sweet collaboration. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Maximum rhythm and maximum rhyme spin this story of sticky peril for an eclectic group of animals forced to learn the value of teamwork. Read full book review >
TE AMO, BEBÉ, LITTLE ONE by Lisa Wheeler
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2004

"A highly enjoyable tribute to mothers and babies everywhere. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A mother's love for her baby is beautifully expressed in Wheeler's lyrical narrative with a Spanish influence. Read full book review >
SEADOGS by Lisa Wheeler
HUMOR
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"Chock full of visual jokes and wonderfully clever turns of phrase, this is a genuine howl from first scene to last. (Picture book. 7-10)"
H.M.S. Pinafore meets Treasure Island when Siegel puts his all-canine cast on stage for a rousing musical tale played out in cartoon panels. Read full book review >
AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider ("Swamp Angel"), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)"
The tale's tall, even if its hero isn't, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide's awesome exploit. Read full book review >
NEW PIG IN TOWN by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"The series continues with the second entry, Fitch and Chip: When Pigs Fly, and Fitch and Chip seem poised to continue their friendship with additional volumes. (Easy reader. 6-8)"
Chip is a confident, friendly little pig (the middle child in a large family) and Fitch is a nervous, shy young wolf who lives alone with his grandmother. Read full book review >
OLD CRICKET by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2003

"The figures in this original tale seem ready to spring off the pages, and the text, laced with creaks and cracks, is a natural for reading aloud. (Picture book. 7-9)"
Wheeler and Goembel follow up their inspired Sailor Moo (2002) with another sidesplitting animal story, this one with a folkloric, Southern flavor. Read full book review >
ONE DARK NIGHT by Lisa Wheeler
Released: April 1, 2003

"Bates's (Do Like a Duck Does, 2002, etc.) watercolors, with their touches of waxy tactility, move with surety and character between tension and sweet resolution. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The circumstances are fraught with trepidation as a few citizens of the forest, at opposite ends of the food chain, meet one another in the dark of the night. Read full book review >
PORCUPINING by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"Amusing watercolor and pastel illustrations perfectly accompany this silky smooth romance. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A banjo-strumming, blues-singing porcupine (named Cushion) searches for someone who does not find him too prickly to love. Read full book review >
TURK AND RUNT by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"But most inspired are the luxurious watercolors from Ansley (Wool Gathering, 2001), with their midnight blues, regal purples, and turkey-skinned pinks depicting Turk in his football gear and assorted buyers in their most comic animation. (Picture book. 4-7)"
It's difficult to explain why Runt, the aptly named young gobbler in Wheeler's tale, cares for the well-being of his hale and hearty older brother, Turk, as in turkey, real and metaphorical. Read full book review >
SAILOR MOO by Lisa Wheeler
POETRY
Released: July 1, 2002

"The naturalistic accuracy of Goembel's illustration adds to the humor of this most unusual situation, especially in the end, when a closing cameo zeroes in on Moo, Angus, and their calf Half-'n'-Half, enjoying ice-cream cones on the Jersey shore. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A land-locked cow follows her dream—and finds lasting happiness—in Wheeler's (Sixteen Cows, p. 348, etc.) humorous outing. Read full book review >
WOOL GATHERING by Lisa Wheeler
POETRY
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"If only every family reunion were guaranteed to be this much fun. (Picture book/poetry. 4-10)"
This collection of poems is a hysterical spoof on reunions and the odd characters and behaviors that are at the heart of every family. Read full book review >
SIXTEEN COWS by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2001

"A rousing little number, best read not right before bed, for the proceedings are spirited and the dancing cows inspire some serious high stepping. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Verse with all the spunk of dueling banjos and honeyed watercolors are a pleasingly combustible combination in this rollicking romance. Read full book review >