Books by Keith Baker

LMNO PEA-QUEL  by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 2017

"Perhaps these peas have simply pea-tered out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Baker's industrious pea-ple are back for a fifth tour, this time delivering an A-to-Z look at work and play. Read full book review >
MY OCTOPUS ARMS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Though a little on the bland side, this effort should reassure little ones resting in the human arms of favorite story readers. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Who hasn't occasionally wished for more than two hands (or arms) in order to simultaneously accomplish all that one needs to? Read full book review >
CAMPING by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Engaging, sitcom-style humor based on personality differences and securely attuned to the intended audience. (Early reader. 4-6)"
A practical alligator and her more excitable husband plan a camping trip in this slightly reformatted chapter taken from Meet Mr. and Mrs. Green (2002). Read full book review >
1-2-3 PEAS by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 24, 2012

"Whether they're counting scores of peas, enjoying the rhymes and puns or relishing the funny visual quirks, families are sure to devour Baker's latest winner. Totally ap-pea-ling! (Picture book. 3-7)"
After an alphabetical, rhyming tour de force (LMNO Peas, 2010), Baker's energetic pea pack is back—this time, to count by ones and 10s. Read full book review >
NO TWO ALIKE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"A worthwhile message that just doesn't quite fly. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A sadly lackluster paean to the premise that "no two snowflakes are alike, / almost, almost… / but not quite." Read full book review >
LMNO PEAS by Keith Baker
Kirkus Star
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
ABC BOOKS
Released: April 5, 2010

"Peas out. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A passel of industrious peas narrates inventive, alphabetically arranged avocations: "We are peas—alphabet peas! / We work and play in the ABCs." Read full book review >
JUST HOW LONG CAN A LONG STRING BE? by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Another winner for the pattern-book list. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Little Ant's exclamatory question allows Bird to produce a list of long and short ideas handily crafted from a ball of white string. Read full book review >
POTATO JOE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2008

"Spunky spuds with appeal. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Lively potatoes frisk and frolic across the page in this lighthearted counting book that expands on the familiar rhyme, "One potato, two potato." Read full book review >
HICKORY DICKORY DOCK by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A great addition to the collection of 'singing' books, with the added bonus of helping readers practice counting and time-telling skills. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The familiar nursery rhyme gains new verses in this latest from Baker, who rounds out the rest of the mouse's busy hours. Read full book review >
LUCKY DAYS WITH MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2005

"The effervescent personalities of the all-alligator cast come through clearly in Baker's small, bright green-and-purple scenes; those ready to move on to something slightly beyond the basic easy reader will enjoy all the energy and joie de vivre on display. (Fiction. 7-9)"
Three more happy tales along the lines of those in More Mr. and Mrs. Green (2004) and its preceding volume. Read full book review >
MORE MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2004

The big-hearted alligators introduced in Meet Mr. and Mrs. Green (2002, but reformatted as an easy reader, too) return for three more feel-good episodes. Mr. Green catches fish after fish, leaving Mrs. Green "frustrated and fishless" until he shares his secret bait: jellybeans. Read full book review >
MEET MR. AND MRS. GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Though the Greens' relationship doesn't have the effervescence of, say, Frog and Toad's, or George and Martha's, children will enjoy following the rotund reptiles through their mini-adventures, and through the bright and snappy, simply drawn cartoon scenes. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Replete with greens and grins, these three episodes introduce a pair of sunny tempered alligators—one with a taste for adventure, the other with a taste for chocolate, pancakes, and cherry snowcones. Read full book review >
LITTLE GREEN by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2001

"This simple, satisfying story will work well with two- and three-year-olds right up to first-graders, and the large full-page and full-spread illustrations and lively text make this a fine choice for story hours with bird or artist themes. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A young artist observes a hummingbird named Little Green that flits from flower to flower outside the boy's window. Read full book review >
QUACK AND COUNT by Keith Baker
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"Children will regretfully wave goodbye as the ducks fly off in neat formation at the end of this brief, painless introduction to several basic math concepts. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Baker (Big Fat Hen, 1994, etc.) engages in more number play, posing ducklings in every combination of groups, e.g., "Splashing as they leap and dive/7 ducklings, 2 plus 5." Read full book review >
SOMETIMES by Keith Baker
by Keith Baker, illustrated by Keith Baker
Released: March 1, 1999

"The engaging pictures and familiar experiences are a gratifying combination. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Emerging readers follow the adventures of a busy crocodile in this Level 1 entry in a promising series (see McPhail, below). Read full book review >
INHERITANCE by Keith Baker
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 5, 1998

"Richly evocative of late-1990s Ireland, but too many corpses—and bad guys'support an unduly intricate plot."
Grimly atmospheric sins-of-the-father first novel set in Northern Ireland of 2017, where, despite 1998's official end to the Troubles, nothing much has changed. Read full book review >
CAT TRICKS by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"In all, an illustrator's tour de force, and a great stimulus to a child's visual imagination. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fans of Baker's Hide and Snake (1991) will be happy to encounter this new book of catchy verse and tricky pictures in an intense purple, green, blue, and gold palette, used to depict cats, shoes, hats, clocks, patterned fabrics, and extravagant textures of all kinds. Read full book review >
BIG FAT HEN by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"Still, the art is gorgeous. (Picture book. 2-7)"
In vibrant full-bleed spreads, a boldly graphic rendition of ``1, 2, buckle my shoe,'' with the numbers from 1 to 10 enacted by the ``big fat hen'' and her friends and their hatching chicks. Read full book review >
ELEPHANTS ALOFT by Kathi Appelt
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"Kids enjoying the adventure may never notice that they're getting a vocabulary lesson, but they'll be intrigued by the elephants' antics and the many other details in the handsomely stylized illustrations. (Picture book. 3-6)"
When two little Indian elephants get an invitation from their African auntie, they set out to pay her a visit. Read full book review >
THE ANTIQUE STORE CAT by Keith Baker
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1992

"Quiet, but a sure bet for cat-lovers. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Alice, introduced in The Third-Story Cat (1987), is wandering again. Read full book review >
HIDE AND SNAKE by Keith Baker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1991

"(Picture book. 3-8)"
Hidden among other patterns as repetitive and brightly colored as his own variegated stripes, a snake challenges readers to discover him in one picture after another: "I'm playing with toys / twisting `round vases, / weaving through baskets, / and tangling with laces.'' The text doesn't add much here, but Baker's bold, handsomely stylized art is sure to amuse with its many clever pseudo-snakes and intriguing camouflages of the real one. Read full book review >