Books by A.M. Homes

DAYS OF AWE by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2018

"Stories filled with dark wit in the tradition of Amy Hempel and Joy Williams."
A collection that examine the absurdities of modern life. Read full book review >
MAY WE BE FORGIVEN by A.M. Homes
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"The formula of shock treatment followed by sentimental affirmation was fresher in Homes' Music for Torching (1999) and This Book Will Save Your Life (2006), and it's hard to take seriously social commentary grounded in such bizarre particulars."
After a grim foray into memoir, Homes (The Mistress's Daughter, 2007, etc.) returns to fiction with the tale of a beleaguered history professor. Read full book review >
THE MISTRESS’S DAUGHTER by A.M. Homes
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 9, 2007

"Ultimately off-putting and unappealing, due to a whiny, self-pitying attitude conveyed in overwrought prose."
Adopted as a newborn, novelist Homes (This Book Will Save Your Life, 2006, etc.) finally meets her biological parents. Read full book review >
THIS BOOK WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2006

"An extremely likable book."
The hero of Homes's latest novel (after Music for Torching, 1999)—a work of guarded but very real optimism and, ultimately, of redemption—is Richard Novak, a California-style Scrooge. Read full book review >
THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2002

"Far from perfect but never dull, and the author impresses as always with her willingness to take risks."
A second collection from Homes (after The Safety of Objects, 1990, coming soon to a theater near you) is focused as usual on suburban angst and extreme behavior. Read full book review >
MUSIC FOR TORCHING by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1999

"People will be talking about this one. (QPB featured alternate; author tour)"
Paul and Elaine Weiss have a very bad ten days in this newest by Homes (The End of Alice, 1996, etc.), who takes her penchant for extreme situations and behavior to the suburbs. Read full book review >
THE END OF ALICE by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1996

"Overall, confused in conception and annoying in the monotony of its own obsessions: a mad rant. (Author tour)"
A sadly obtuse updating of Lolita, in which Homes (In a Country of Mothers, 1993, etc.) welcomes us into the private world of a middle-aged pervert whose slow life behind bars allows him ample space to reflect upon his career in pedophilia. Read full book review >
IN A COUNTRY OF MOTHERS by A.M. Homes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 6, 1993

"Snappy dialogue, transparently clear style, and characters handled with just the right amounts of sympathy and acerbity: Homes has a bright future—but, for now, readers have this intriguing if ultimately disappointing debut."
A shrink convinces herself that one of her patients is her lost daughter: the strong premise has a weak follow-through in Homes's first novel for adults (after her YA novel Jack, 1989, and her 1990 story collection, The Safety of Objects). Read full book review >