Books by Peter Lerangis

THROWBACK by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2019

"A trilogy opener with all the makings of a grand tale…in time. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
A fledgling time traveler learns that changing the past—or even just visiting—can have…disturbing consequences. Read full book review >
FIRE THE DEPTHS by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A new series for sci-fi enthusiasts and adventure seekers. (Adventure. 9-12)"
Two young descendants of Jules Verne must stay one step ahead of a villain attempting to steal their ancestor's treasure. Read full book review >
THE TOMB OF SHADOWS by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 13, 2014

"An exciting-enough excursion into a world full of wonders. (Adventure. 8-12)"
The Seven Wonders series continues as Jack McKinley and his friends try to save themselves and, while they're at it, the world. Read full book review >
LOST IN BABYLON by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 29, 2013

"New setting, same sorts of adventures will be the script for each volume, but fans will get hooked on the mysteriousness of it all. (Adventure. 8-14)"
In the second of the seven-volume Seven Wonders series, Jack McKinley seeks the second of seven stolen Loculi of Atlantis, magical orbs planted in each one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Read full book review >
THE COLOSSUS RISES by Peter Lerangis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Fans of Riordan, Rowling, and ancient myths and legends will welcome this new, if derivative opportunity for adventure and enchantment. (Fiction. 8-14)"
The Seven Wonders series debuts with a bang: 13-year-old Jack McKinley will die unless he can locate the magic Loculi containing the ancient powers of Atlantis. Read full book review >
Released: Feb. 7, 2012

"As illuminating as a hand grenade, and just as powerful. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Ben Bright's senior year seems a prelude to a gloriously successful life, with college, loving girlfriend and an acting career spread out in front of him. Read full book review >
WTF by Peter Lerangis
FICTION
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

Their party plans derailed after their car hits a deer, Jimmy and Byron leave their friend Cam for dead (he's not, really) in the driver's seat only to find themselves headed back into New York to hit up an exclusive nightclub with gatecrasher MC tagging along. Meanwhile Reina finds herself drawn to the same club in an effort to escape Waits, a prep-school burnout turned drug dealer. When the six acquaintances finally collide, the drama continues to unfold with rapid-fire chapter and perspective changes. Choppy editing and frantic pacing create the unwelcome sensation of reading at light speed. All the plot threads, from Cam's assumed demise to Waits's drug dealing to MC's drive to party, tie up in a saccharine knot, leaving readers with a forced and simple resolution. Lerangis's diction is adult, and those moments where he attempts teen speak are glaringly obvious. A miss. (Fiction. YA)Read full book review >
SMILER’S BONES by Peter Lerangis
FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

In 1897, explorer Robert Peary brought six Eskimos from their home in Greenland and put them on display at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. Among them were a father and son, Qisuk ("Smiler") and Minik. Four, including Smiler, succumbed to disease, one returned home, and Minik was left alone, stranded in New York City for 12 years. Lerangis offers a hugely fascinating novel, closely based on the true story. The writing is vivid; the description of New York City by a boy who had never even seen a tree before is particularly brilliant. And the inner life of Minik is effectively rendered as he watches everyone he loves become sick and die, sees his father's bones on display at the museum, and becomes miserably alone. Though Lerangis's narrative of shifting time frames and perspectives precludes mounting tension and escalating drama, it's a compelling and important story nevertheless. (author's note, bibliography) (Historical fiction. 11+)Read full book review >