Books by Robert Littell

Robert Littell has been elevated to espionage fictions upper echelons. His novels include The New York Times bestseller The Company, The Visiting Professor, The Defection of A.J. Lewinter, The Sisters, and Legends which won the 2005 Los Angeles Times Book


A NASTY PIECE OF WORK by Robert Littell
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Nov. 19, 2013

"Brainy when it needs to be, arch at every conceivable opportunity and good-natured withal. It's a pleasure to see Littell, who's always seemed kind of tightly wound, relax a bit and invite readers along for the ride."
And now for something completely flip, as ironic spymaster Littell (Young Philby, 2012, etc.) turns to the vicissitudes of domestic crime. Read full book review >
YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"A Cold-War spy novel for the top shelf."
A dizzying "what if" take on (in)famous British spy Kim Philby. Read full book review >
THE STALIN EPIGRAM by Robert Littell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 12, 2009

"Firmly in the tradition of Orwell, Kafka and Koestler—and equally harrowing. "
Littell (Vicious Circle, 2006, etc.) adapts the unhappy story of iconic Russian poet Osip Mandelstam to deliver another of his chilling portraits of bureaucracy gone mad. Read full book review >
VICIOUS CIRCLE by Robert Littell
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Sept. 21, 2006

"Authoritative, sharply observed, remarkably evenhanded—neither side gets a free pass here—and, as usual, first-rate."
Suspenseful and serious thriller from Littell (Legends, 2005, etc.) depicts the Middle East as a place in which positions are depressingly circular, behavior remorselessly vicious. Read full book review >
LEGENDS by Robert Littell
Released: May 5, 2005

"Littell's sharp images, breathless chases and nasty double-crossers please as ever, but the splintered narrative suffers from a central identity crisis that blurs the focus and slows the pace."
Choppy thriller about a man who isn't sure he ever was. Read full book review >
THE COMPANY by Robert Littell
THRILLERS
Released: April 22, 2002

"Accurate? Only CIA operatives know. Fascinating? Surprising? Suspenseful? Yes, yes, yes."
Virtually a history of the US for the past fifty years as seen through the dark lens of the CIA. Read full book review >
FOR THE FUTURE OF ISRAEL by Shimon Peres
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1998

"This book, entertaining and occasionally instructive as it is, underscores the need for a good biography of one of Israel's most important leaders."
Five long, only fitfully fruitful conversations between Israel's former prime minister who was the long-time rival to, ultimate collaborator with, and successor to the slain Yitzhak Rabin, and a Paris-based former Newsweek correspondent and novelist. Read full book review >
WALKING BACK THE CAT by Robert Littell
THRILLERS
Released: June 20, 1997

"Even though the answers aren't as elegant or original as the questions, Littell (The Visiting Professor, 1994, etc.) delivers the goods with understated ingenuity and his hallmark tenderness- -a commodity even rarer in spy fiction than merited trust. (First printing of 50,000; $40,000 ad/promo)"
 An aging KGB agent and a seen-it-all Gulf War vet join forces to thwart a ring of freelance assassins in this quirky Cold War thriller. Read full book review >
THE VISITING PROFESSOR by Robert Littell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1994

"Delicate stuff, all right, but lacking the resonance of Louis Jones's even more delicate Particles and Luck (1993)."
 The sweetly inconsequential Americanization of an inoffensive Russian specialist in chaos theory. Read full book review >