Book List

10 Reads Everyone Is Talking About

  • NONFICTION

    THE LIBRARY BOOK

    OCT. 16, 2018

HISTORY

THE LIBRARY BOOK

by Susan Orlean

Bibliophiles will love this fact-filled, bookish journey. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    HEAVY

    OCT. 16, 2018

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

HEAVY

by Kiese Laymon

A dynamic memoir that is unsettling in all the best ways. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    AN ABSOLUTELY REMARKABLE THING

    SEPT. 25, 2018

SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY

AN ABSOLUTELY REMARKABLE THING

by Hank Green

A fun, contemporary adventure that cares about who we are as humans, especially when faced with remarkable events. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    GOOD AND MAD

    OCT. 2, 2018

HISTORY

GOOD AND MAD

by Rebecca Traister

A gripping call to action that portends greater liberty and justness for all. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING

    AUG. 14, 2018

FICTION

WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING

by Delia Owens

Despite some distractions, there’s an irresistible charm to Owens’ first foray into nature-infused romantic fiction. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    TRANSCRIPTION

    SEPT. 25, 2018

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

TRANSCRIPTION

by Kate Atkinson

Another beautifully crafted book from an author of great intelligence and empathy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    IN PIECES

    SEPT. 18, 2018

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

IN PIECES

by Sally Field

Brimming with open introspection, engaging anecdotes, and gorgeous photographs, Field’s moving account sheds light on how... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE GREATEST LOVE STORY EVER TOLD

    OCT. 2, 2018

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE GREATEST LOVE STORY EVER TOLD

by Nick Offerman & Megan Mullally

Readers are likely to enjoy the authors’ company almost as much as they seem to enjoy each other’s. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BITTER ORANGE

    OCT. 9, 2018

  • FICTION

    WHAT WE OWE

    OCT. 16, 2018

FICTION

WHAT WE OWE

by Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde ; translated by Elizabeth Clark Wessel

Always arresting, never sentimental; gut-wrenching, though not without hope. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!