Book List

11 Early 2020 Books We Love

  • FICTION

    RUN ME TO EARTH

    JAN. 28, 2020

FICTION

RUN ME TO EARTH

by Paul Yoon

Another masterpiece in miniature about the unpredictable directions a life can take. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BLACK SUNDAY

    FEB. 4, 2020

FICTION

BLACK SUNDAY

by Tola Rotimi Abraham

Twin sisters cut adrift in a perilous, duplicitous world learn that “only the wise survive.” A formidable debut. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    STATEWAY'S GARDEN

    JAN. 21, 2020

FICTION

STATEWAY'S GARDEN

by Jasmon Drain

Drain writes with fierce warmth about characters coping with crushing racism and poverty in this impressive debut. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE PASSION ECONOMY

    JAN. 7, 2020

BUSINESS

THE PASSION ECONOMY

by Adam Davidson

Fine inspiration for entrepreneurs that should be required reading in any business school curriculum. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A BLACK WOMEN'S HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES

    FEB. 4, 2020

HISTORY

A BLACK WOMEN'S HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES

by Daina Ramey Berry & Kali Nicole Gross

A vital book for any library or classroom—and for foot soldiers in the fight for racial justice. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SOMETHING THAT MAY SHOCK AND DISCREDIT YOU

    FEB. 11, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

SOMETHING THAT MAY SHOCK AND DISCREDIT YOU

by Daniel Mallory Ortberg

You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, often both at once. Everyone should read this extraordinary book. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    HOW TO BUILD A HEART

    JAN. 28, 2020

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

HOW TO BUILD A HEART

by Maria Padian

An absolutely enthralling depiction of family and self-discovery. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL

    JAN. 28, 2020

  • TEEN

    FLOWERS IN THE GUTTER

    JAN. 7, 2020

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

FLOWERS IN THE GUTTER

by K.R. Gaddy

An eye-opening account of tenacity that brings the efforts of young anti-Nazi activists vividly to life. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    OVERGROUND RAILROAD

    JAN. 7, 2020

CHILDREN'S

OVERGROUND RAILROAD

by Lesa Cline-Ransome ; illustrated by James E. Ransome

A beautiful portrayal of a historic and arduous family journey northward Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!