• TEEN

    DROWNED CITY

    AUG. 4, 2015

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

DROWNED CITY

by Don Brown ; illustrated by Don Brown

An excellent chronicle of the tragedy for a broad audience; children, teens, and adults will all be moved. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE MARVELS

    SEPT. 15, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THE MARVELS

by Brian Selznick ; illustrated by Brian Selznick

Time, grief, forgiveness, and love intersect in epic theater celebrating mysteries of the heart and spirit. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    LITTLE ROBOT

    SEPT. 1, 2015

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

LITTLE ROBOT

by Ben Hatke ; illustrated by Ben Hatke

Girl power at its best. A sure winner! (Graphic novel. 3-12) Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SUNNY SIDE UP

    AUG. 25, 2015

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

SUNNY SIDE UP

by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm ; illustrated by Matthew Holm

Funny, poignant, and reassuringly upbeat by the end but free of glib platitudes or easy answers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    ROLLER GIRL

    MARCH 10, 2015

  • CHILDREN'S

    WRITTEN AND DRAWN BY HENRIETTA

    SEPT. 29, 2015

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

WRITTEN AND DRAWN BY HENRIETTA

by Liniers ; illustrated by Liniers

This effervescent package opens to reveal plenty of wisdom. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BABA YAGA'S ASSISTANT

    AUG. 4, 2015

  • CHILDREN'S

    PABLO & JANE AND THE HOT AIR CONTRAPTION

    OCT. 20, 2015

CHILDREN'S

PABLO & JANE AND THE HOT AIR CONTRAPTION

by José Domingo ; illustrated by José Domingo

Original art and visually engrossing worlds will have readers visiting this book over and over again Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    HILO

    SEPT. 1, 2015

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

HILO

by Judd Winick ; illustrated by Judd Winick

A wholeheartedly weird and wonderful tale of friendship, acceptance, and robots Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!