Book List

Best Teen Fantasy and Science Fiction of 2013

  • TEEN

    THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN

    SEPT. 17, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN

by Holly Black

You may be ready to put a stake in vampire lit, but read this first: It’s dark and dangerous, bloody and brilliant. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SORROW'S KNOT

    NOV. 1, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SORROW'S KNOT

by Erin Bow

A lovely gem, dark and quiet as the dead but glimmering with life as well. Not to be missed. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    EARTH GIRL

    MARCH 5, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

EARTH GIRL

by Janet Edwards

Action, rich archaeological detail and respectfully levelheaded disability portrayal, refreshingly free from symbolism and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    FIREBORN

    DEC. 3, 2013

  • TEEN

    CHAMPION

    NOV. 5, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

CHAMPION

by Marie Lu

Ever respectful of the capacity of its readers, this series offers a satisfying conclusion of potential rather than a neatly... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    QUINTANA OF CHARYN

    APRIL 23, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

QUINTANA OF CHARYN

by Melina Marchetta

Readers will have a hard time forgetting the complex, deeply human characters that populate this multifaceted narrative. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    A CORNER OF WHITE

    APRIL 1, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

A CORNER OF WHITE

by Jaclyn Moriarty

Quirky, charming, funny, sad: another winner from this always-surprising author. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    ALL OUR YESTERDAYS

    SEPT. 3, 2013

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

ALL OUR YESTERDAYS

by Cristin Terrill

Powerful emotional relationships and tight plotting in this debut mark Terrill as an author to watch. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!