Book List

Most Empowering Picture Books of 2022

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE GREAT ZAPFINO

    APRIL 5, 2022

  • CHILDREN'S

    I AM GOLDEN

    FEB. 1, 2022

CHILDREN'S

I AM GOLDEN

by Eva Chen ; illustrated by Sophie Diao

A shining affirmation of Chinese American identity. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    EVERYTHING IN ITS PLACE

    JULY 19, 2022

  • CHILDREN'S

    PATCHWORK

    AUG. 30, 2022

CHILDREN'S

PATCHWORK

by Matt de la Peña ; illustrated by Corinna Luyken

The call to revel in the glorious patchwork that is “us” blazes forth from this paean of acceptance. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    MY FADE IS FRESH

    NOV. 1, 2022

CHILDREN'S

MY FADE IS FRESH

by Shauntay Grant ; illustrated by Kitt Thomas

This fun, powerful, and empowering tale belongs on every shelf. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    TOMATOES IN MY LUNCHBOX

    JUNE 21, 2022

CHILDREN'S

TOMATOES IN MY LUNCHBOX

by Costantia Manoli ; illustrated by Magdalena Mora

A poetic book about the power of a smile and what it means to find home. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BLACK GOLD

    OCT. 11, 2022

  • CHILDREN'S

    BEAUTY WOKE

    FEB. 15, 2022

CHILDREN'S

BEAUTY WOKE

by NoNieqa Ramos ; illustrated by Paola Escobar

This bold manifesto of cultural awareness reaches out to awaken the sleepwalkers among us. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    GIBBERISH

    MARCH 1, 2022

CHILDREN'S

GIBBERISH

by Young Vo ; illustrated by Young Vo

A visually and emotionally immersive immigration story. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE YEAR WE LEARNED TO FLY

    JAN. 4, 2022

CHILDREN'S

THE YEAR WE LEARNED TO FLY

by Jacqueline Woodson ; illustrated by Rafael López

An uplifting story that will inspire kids, especially brown girls and boys, to dream. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Featuring 318 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children’s, and YA books; also in this special Summer Reads Issue: interviews with Kevin Kwan, Ronald Drabkin, Andrea Wang, and Shivaun Plozza; and more

subscribe
  • kirkus star
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • kirkus prize
  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!

Close Quickview