FALL FOR YOU by Cecilia Gray
Best of 2012
Kirkus Star

FALL FOR YOU

The Jane Austen Academy Series #1: A Modern Retelling of Pride & Prejudice

KIRKUS REVIEW

Gray’s (A Delightful Arrangement, 2011, etc.) young-adult novel offers a unique twist on a classic.

Lizzie Egmont has her entire life planned out. A junior at the Jane Austen Academy, she plans to become managing editor of the school’s paper, graduate at the top of her class and receive an acceptance letter from Georgetown University—until her school goes coed, that is. When the first male student steps on campus, Lizzie’s dream scuttles off trajectory. Her classmates succumb to boisterous flirtations with the opposite sex, but Lizzie sees trouble. The academy has been sold and the owner’s identity carefully concealed by the new trustees and headmistress. When Lizzie overhears a conversation about plans to change the name of the school, she leaps into action. In the process, she discovers that the truth may cost her friendships and love. As expected from a “modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice,” the book retains the essence of its original cast: Lizzie is bold and beautiful beyond her own good; her love interest, Dante, is stunningly attractive and irresistibly brooding. Fans of Bingley, Jane and Wickham will not be disappointed since the author has taken great care to not only preserve their essences, but also relay them as believable, lovable and flawed teenagers. Dialogue is contemporary, hilarious and honest to Austen’s original characters—just reincarnated in 21st century California. Action and exposition fiercely move readers through a landscape of wealth and ambition, where literature comes to life as readers face contemporary YA issues of conformity, loyalty and identity. Despite its brevity, the novel presents a world just as resonating as those created in some novels triple the size.

A compelling mix of action, drama and love.

Pub Date: Feb. 10th, 2012
Page count: 105pp
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Program: Kirkus Indie
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15th, 2012




BEST INDIE BOOKS OF 2012: THE COMPLETE LIST:

Indie SPOONFUL by Chris Mendius
by Chris Mendius
Indie THE NUDE by Margaret Sisu
by Margaret Sisu
Indie THE WHIPPING CLUB by Deborah Henry
by Deborah Henry
Indie FROM THIS WICKED PATCH OF DUST by Sergio Troncoso
by Sergio Troncoso

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

IndieDRAWN by Cecilia Gray
by Cecilia Gray