MONOGRAPH BY CHRIS WARE by Chris Ware
Kirkus Star

MONOGRAPH BY CHRIS WARE

by illustrated by
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

The noted artist, collector, and visionary offers a personal anthology/memoir, complete with junior high photos and memories of the cul-de-sacs of Omaha.

“Does the world really need another printed tome about an artist, let alone one about an admittedly marginal and rather questionable graphic novelist/artist/writer who has already littered the recycling centers and used bookstores of his home country with dog-eared examples of his own self-regard?” So asks Ware (Building Stories, 2012, etc.), deep into a collection whose Greek-derived and “somewhat self-referential” title speaks to his usual custom: writing alone, tucked away in a dark corner with pens and books. NPR host Ira Glass, who provides the preface, got him out of the house a few years ago, Ware writes, and the exposure helped him become better known to readers, but it wasn’t as if he was a hermit. He worked as a newspaper cartoonist, a graphic artist, an illustrator, and, as he writes, learned on the job to be a social being and to pay attention to deadlines and requirements, all good things for a budding artist to know. Throughout, Ware peppers his narrative with other lessons he’s learned along the way: about technique, the history of art, the links between cartoons and cinema, and yes, about life, aging, and so forth; it’s good to change your horizons and see the world, as he reckons, because “artists don’t develop in a vacuum.” The oversized book is overstuffed with art, each page spread containing numerous images, cartoon strips, sketches, mockups, snapshots, scrapbook items, and other such treasures that will be of immense appeal to fans of Krazy Kat and Joseph Cornell alike. The text is as smart and illuminating as the images, and Ware has wise things to say everywhere along the way.

This collection has a last-word feel to it, offering a delightful summation of a fruitful and very busy last few decades. Fans, of course, will want much more, but this makes a great start.

Pub Date: Nov. 1st, 2017
ISBN: 978-0-8478-6088-3
Page count: 280pp
Publisher: Rizzoli
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15th, 2017




MORE BY CHRIS WARE

FictionBUILDING STORIES by Chris Ware
by Chris Ware
NonfictionTHE BEST AMERICAN COMICS, 2007 by Chris Ware
by Chris Ware
FictionTHE ACME NOVELTY LIBRARY by Chris Ware
by Chris Ware

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

NonfictionKRAZY by Michael Tisserand
by Michael Tisserand
NonfictionUTOPIA PARKWAY by Deborah Solomon
by Deborah Solomon
NonfictionMARVEL COMICS by Sean Howe
by Sean Howe