For settings where the Phoebe and Her Unicorn series has ravenous fans.

PACEY PACKER, UNICORN TRACKER

From the Pacey Packer, Unicorn Tracker series , Vol. 1

A girl goes on an unexpected journey to save her little sister in this series opener.

Pacey Packer daydreams of being the “brave and powerful” Lady Pacey, vanquishing foes and “bringing peace and justice to the world all by herself.” Tasked with babysitting her younger sister, Mina, adventure-loving Pacey refuses to play tea party with Mina and her plush unicorn. But when she tries to relent, Pacey walks in on Mina being ferried out the window by a real live unicorn! Equally shockingly, Mina’s unicorn toy is actually Slasher, a real unicorn who has been transfigured into the body of a plushie and can talk. Pacey follows them, but just as they arrive in the unicorn land of Rundalyn, Pacey and Slasher are separated from Mina. With snarky Slasher as her guide, Pacey uses her sense of adventure to brave carnivorous plants, oversized fauna, and other dangers to reach Mina. When Slasher and Pacey arrive at the Alpha unicorn’s castle, a Mr. Tumnus–esque betrayal by Slasher reveals the cruel, haughty Alpha’s plan to turn Pacey and her sister into stone statues. It’s up to Pacey and her sister to save themselves, combining their styles of imaginative play. Two-color illustrations (a dull grape purple with black and white) lack the magic and energy that the story really needs, flattening the already two-dimensional style and lacking a clear intentionality. Pacey and Mina both have pale skin and straight, black hair.

For settings where the Phoebe and Her Unicorn series has ravenous fans. (Graphic fantasy. 7-10)

Pub Date: Aug. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9848-5054-6

Page Count: 240

Publisher: Random House

Review Posted Online: May 3, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An effort as insubstantial as any spirit.

THE MYSTERIOUS MESSENGER

Eleven-year-old Maria Russo helps her charlatan mother hoodwink customers, but Maria has a spirited secret.

Maria’s mother, the psychic Madame Destine, cons widows out of their valuables with the assistance of their apartment building’s super, Mr. Fox. Madame Destine home-schools Maria, and because Destine is afraid of unwanted attention, she forbids Maria from talking to others. Maria is allowed to go to the library, where new librarian Ms. Madigan takes an interest in Maria that may cause her trouble. Meanwhile, Sebastian, Maria’s new upstairs neighbor, would like to be friends. All this interaction makes it hard for Maria to keep her secret: that she is visited by Edward, a spirit who tells her the actual secrets of Madame Destine’s clients via spirit writing. When Edward urges Maria to help Mrs. Fisher, Madame Destine’s most recent mark, Maria must overcome her shyness and her fear of her mother—helping Mrs. Fisher may be the key to the mysterious past Maria uncovers and a brighter future. Alas, picture-book–creator Ford’s middle-grade debut is a muddled, melodramatic mystery with something of an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink feel: In addition to the premise, there’s a tragically dead father, a mysterious family tree, and the Beat poets. Sluggish pacing; stilted, unrealistic dialogue; cartoonishly stock characters; and unattractive, flat illustrations make this one to miss. Maria and Sebastian are both depicted with brown skin, hers lighter than his; the other principals appear to be white.

An effort as insubstantial as any spirit. (author’s note) (Paranormal mystery. 7-10)

Pub Date: July 21, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-250-20567-4

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Christy Ottaviano/Henry Holt

Review Posted Online: March 29, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse.

MEET THE BIGFEET

From the Yeti Files series , Vol. 1

It’s a Bigfeet family reunion!

Everyone’s favorite frosty, furry cryptid, the yeti, actually has a name: Blizz Richards. From his supersecret HQ in Nepal he keeps in touch with his fellow cryptids, all of whom have sworn an oath to keep themselves hidden. That’s not always easy, especially when there are cryptozoologists, like the nasty (but bumbling) George Vanquist, who are always trying to expose the secretive creatures. Vanquist got a picture of Blizz’s cousin Brian near his home in British Columbia, causing the mortified Brian to disappear entirely. When Blizz receives an invitation to a Bigfeet family reunion in Canada, he calls his buddies Alexander (one of Santa’s elves), Gunthar (a goblin) and Frank the Arctic fox to help him get ready. When they arrive in Canada, Brian is still nowhere to be seen. Can Blizz and his skunk ape and other sasquatch cousins find Brian, have the reunion and evade Vanquist? If anyone can, the Bigfeet clan can. Illustrator Sherry’s first volume in the Yeti Files is a fast and funny graphic-prose tale full of labeled pictures and comic-style panels. Those just starting chapter books may have some trouble with a few big words, but they’ll enjoy the big friendly monsters and immediately ask for the next tale—which looks to be about the Loch Ness monster.

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)

Pub Date: Sept. 30, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-545-55617-0

Page Count: 128

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: May 28, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more