AVALANCHE ANNIE by Lisa Wheeler

AVALANCHE ANNIE

A Not-So-Tall Tale
by , illustrated by
Age Range: 7 - 9

KIRKUS REVIEW

The tale’s tall, even if its hero isn’t, in this rhymed account of a diminutive trail guide’s awesome exploit. Leading a group of snowshoe racers up the slopes of northern Michisota’s Mount Himalachia, four-foot-three-inch Annie Halfpint meets a wild avalanche coming down. Her wide Inuit face lit with glee, she snatches a rope and lassoes the beast, riding it safely down into Yoohoo Valley to the amazement of all. Wheeler tells the tale in sprightly verse—“Her voice booms soft as thunder. / Her hair grows thick as ink. / Her skin feels smooth as gravel. / Her mukluks hold their stink”—aptly reflected in Cyrus’s comic scenes of dismayed hikers, rolling down the hill in a whirl of colorful parkas, amid giant curds of snow. Fans of Sally Ann Crockett, Angelica Longrider (“Swamp Angel”), and other female members of the tall-tale pantheon will definitely be looking up to Annie. (Picture book. 7-9)

Pub Date: Oct. 1st, 2003
ISBN: 0-15-216735-8
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Harcourt
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1st, 2003




MORE BY LISA WHEELER

ChildrenDINO-WRESTLING by Lisa Wheeler
by Lisa Wheeler
ChildrenTHE PET PROJECT by Lisa Wheeler
by Lisa Wheeler
ChildrenSPINSTER GOOSE by Lisa Wheeler
by Lisa Wheeler

MORE BY KURT CYRUS

ChildrenYOUR SKELETON IS SHOWING by Kurt Cyrus
by Kurt Cyrus
ChildrenZOMBIE MOMMY by M.T. Anderson
by M.T. Anderson

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenMISS SALLY ANN AND THE PANTHER by Bobbi Miller
by Bobbi Miller