NEBULA AWARDS 31 by Pamela Sargent


SFWA's Choices for the Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year
edited by
Email this review


 The Nebula Awards of 1995, as voted by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The winners, Esther M. Friesner's ``Death and the Librarian'' (Best Short Story), Ursula K. Le Guin's ``Solitude'' (Best Novelette), and Elizabeth Hand's ``Last Summer at Mars Hill'' (Best Novella), appear, along with a selection of ballot finalists (from Kelley Eskridge, James Patrick Kelly, Maureen F. McHugh, Dale Bailey, Robert J. Sawyer--his The Terminal Experiment captured the Best Novel award--and Lisa Goldstein). Also included are Rhysling Award (poetry) winners David Lunde and Dan Raphael. Harlan Ellison and Charles L. Harness enthuse over Grandmaster Award winner A.E. van Vogt, who contributes the excellent ``The Enchanted Village.'' Paul Di Filippo, Nancy Springer, Judith Moffett, Ian Watson, Robert Silverberg, and Michaela Roessner provide overviews; Ian Watson, Jack Dann, and Jack C. Haldeman III memorialize the late John Brunner and Roger Zelazny; Kathi Maio examines 1995's movies; and Gregory Benford furnishes a splendid autobiographical essay. Fine fiction along with valuable insights: another excellent compendium.

Pub Date: April 17th, 1997
ISBN: 0-15-100108-1
Page count: 352pp
Publisher: Harvest/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 1st, 1997


Sci-FiSEED SEEKER by Pamela Sargent
by Pamela Sargent
Sci-FiCHILD OF VENUS by Pamela Sargent
by Pamela Sargent
FictionNEBULA AWARDS 30 by Pamela Sargent
by Pamela Sargent