A fascinating and scary tale that collapses under the weight of its own esoterica. Abraham (The Romance Reader, 1995, etc.)...

READ REVIEW

THE SEVENTH BEGGAR

An unrelentingly recondite tale about a young Yeshiva scholar who comes to grief by delving too deeply into the stories of a Hasidic mystic.

Joel Jakob lives in the Hasidic community of Monsey, a small town in upstate New York. A renowned young scholar, Joel is the grandson of a rabbi and the son of a schoolmaster. His sister Ada is a fashion designer of sorts who retrofits Calvin Klein and Ralph Lauren creations according to Hasidic dress codes. At his father’s yeshiva, Joel follows the prescribed course of studies with great success, but he also develops an interest in the writings of Nachman of Bratslav, an 18th-century Ukrainian Hasid famous for his unfinished Tales of the Seventh Beggar. A Kabbalist as well as storyteller, Nachman dabbled in black magic, hinted that he was the Messiah, and is, as a result, regarded with great suspicion by modern Hasidim. But even today there’s a secret cult of Nachman devotees, and Joel finds himself drawn deeper and deeper into their ranks as he studies Nachman’s work. Sure enough, things begin to get very strange in short order. Joel suffers odd fainting spells and hallucinations, especially after he travels to Ukraine in order to pray at Nachman’s grave on Yom Kippur. There, he encounters a ghostly woman, a Lilith, who seduces him in his sleep and pursues him afterward like a Harpy. Back home, he becomes embroiled in Hasidic controversy and is attacked by members of a rival gang. Eventually, he comes to a bad end, kind of.

A fascinating and scary tale that collapses under the weight of its own esoterica. Abraham (The Romance Reader, 1995, etc.) rambles maddeningly, and her account may be incomprehensible to any not well-versed in the arcana of Hasidic folklore and theology.

Pub Date: Oct. 15, 2004

ISBN: 1-57322-285-2

Page Count: 345

Publisher: Riverhead

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15, 2004

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

GHOSTED

In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called.

Sarah has just separated from her American husband and is visiting her hometown in England when she meets Eddie. He’s kind and charming, and although they only spend one week together, she falls in love. When he has to leave for a trip, she knows they’ll keep in touch—they’re already making plans for the rest of their lives. But then Eddie never calls, and Sarah’s increasingly frantic efforts to contact him are fruitless. Is he hurt? Is he dead? As her friends tell her, there’s a far greater likelihood that he’s just blowing her off—she’s been ghosted. After trying to track Eddie down at a football game, Sarah starts to become ashamed of herself—after all, she’s almost 40 years old and she’s essentially stalking a man who never called her. But as Sarah slowly learns, she and Eddie didn’t actually meet randomly—they both have a connection to an accident that happened years ago, and it may have something to do with why he disappeared. The tension quickly amps up as the secrets of Eddie’s and Sarah’s pasts are revealed, and the truth behind their connection is genuinely surprising and heartbreaking. The barriers between Sarah and Eddie seem insurmountable at times, and although their issues are resolved in a tidy manner, the emotions behind their actions are always believable. Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart.

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Pub Date: July 24, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-525-52277-5

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Pamela Dorman/Viking

Review Posted Online: May 1, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more