Next book


From the Marvel Avengers Assembly series , Vol. 1

A lighthearted middle-grade treatment of new and beloved heroes.

After a fight with the Shocker results in Ms. Marvel, aka Kamala Khan, demolishing some New Jersey buildings, she is recruited into the Avengers Institute after-school program.

Helmed by principal Carol “Captain Marvel” Danvers, Kamala’s idol and frequent subject of her superhero fan fiction, the program aims to give young heroes the opportunity to explore their powers, build camaraderie with other superheroes, and cultivate much-needed superhero skills. Taught by such luminaries as Beast, She-Hulk (who gives the young heroes a primer on legal responsibilities), Ant-Man, and vice principal (and former villain) Quicksilver, the young Pakistani American hero builds skills and confidence, and she finds friendship with her teammates Miles “Spider-Man” Morales, who’s Afro-Latinx, and Doreen “Squirrel Girl” Green, who’s white. But when other classmates reveal their true, less-scrupulous intentions, Kamala and her friends find themselves in danger in their final academic decathlon. Fans will enjoy the situational humor and banter among characters and their mentors, such as Peter Parker with Miles, and slapstick antics. The story is related in a variety of formats including comics, social media posts, newspaper articles, letters, and text messages (sometimes unclear and at other times revealing too much); it may be hard for some Marvel aficionados to suspend disbelief. Though familiarity with characters’ backstories is not absolutely required, readers new to the franchise may be a little lost without some background knowledge. Readers also meet Kamala’s family, imam Sheikh Abdullah, and friend Nakia; all are Muslim, and some dispense advice based on Islamic stories and sayings.

A lighthearted middle-grade treatment of new and beloved heroes. (Graphic/adventure hybrid. 8-12)

Pub Date: Aug. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-338-58725-8

Page Count: 176

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: May 2, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2020

Next book


From the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series , Vol. 14

Readers can still rely on this series to bring laughs.

The Heffley family’s house undergoes a disastrous attempt at home improvement.

When Great Aunt Reba dies, she leaves some money to the family. Greg’s mom calls a family meeting to determine what to do with their share, proposing home improvements and then overruling the family’s cartoonish wish lists and instead pushing for an addition to the kitchen. Before bringing in the construction crew, the Heffleys attempt to do minor maintenance and repairs themselves—during which Greg fails at the work in various slapstick scenes. Once the professionals are brought in, the problems keep getting worse: angry neighbors, terrifying problems in walls, and—most serious—civil permitting issues that put the kibosh on what work’s been done. Left with only enough inheritance to patch and repair the exterior of the house—and with the school’s dismal standardized test scores as a final straw—Greg’s mom steers the family toward moving, opening up house-hunting and house-selling storylines (and devastating loyal Rowley, who doesn’t want to lose his best friend). While Greg’s positive about the move, he’s not completely uncaring about Rowley’s action. (And of course, Greg himself is not as unaffected as he wishes.) The gags include effectively placed callbacks to seemingly incidental events (the “stress lizard” brought in on testing day is particularly funny) and a lampoon of after-school-special–style problem books. Just when it seems that the Heffleys really will move, a new sequence of chaotic trouble and property destruction heralds a return to the status quo. Whew.

Readers can still rely on this series to bring laughs. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 8-12)

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-4197-3903-3

Page Count: 224

Publisher: Amulet/Abrams

Review Posted Online: Nov. 18, 2019

Next book


From the Wild Robot series , Vol. 3

Hugely entertaining, timely, and triumphant.

Robot Roz undertakes an unusual ocean journey to save her adopted island home in this third series entry.

When a poison tide flowing across the ocean threatens their island, Roz works with the resident creatures to ensure that they will have clean water, but the destruction of vegetation and crowding of habitats jeopardize everyone’s survival. Brown’s tale of environmental depredation and turmoil is by turns poignant, graceful, endearing, and inspiring, with his (mostly) gentle robot protagonist at its heart. Though Roz is different from the creatures she lives with or encounters—including her son, Brightbill the goose, and his new mate, Glimmerwing—she makes connections through her versatile communication abilities and her desire to understand and help others. When Roz accidentally discovers that the replacement body given to her by Dr. Molovo is waterproof, she sets out to seek help and discovers the human-engineered source of the toxic tide. Brown’s rich descriptions of undersea landscapes, entertaining conversations between Roz and wild creatures, and concise yet powerful explanations of the effect of the poison tide on the ecology of the island are superb. Simple, spare illustrations offer just enough glimpses of Roz and her surroundings to spark the imagination. The climactic confrontation pits oceangoing mammals, seabirds, fish, and even zooplankton against hardware and technology in a nicely choreographed battle. But it is Roz’s heroism and peacemaking that save the day.

Hugely entertaining, timely, and triumphant. (author’s note) (Fiction. 8-12)

Pub Date: Sept. 26, 2023

ISBN: 9780316669412

Page Count: 288

Publisher: Little, Brown

Review Posted Online: Aug. 26, 2023

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2023

Close Quickview