Lively writing, broad humor, and a fast-paced plot will capture and keep readers’ interest, particularly those who, like the...

THE BOOKSHOP GIRL

A foundling thwarts the machinations of two greedy, duplicitous villains.

Property Jones was abandoned by her biological parents in a bookshop at 5 and taken in by its owner, Netty, and her son, Michael. From this disconcerting beginning, a whimsical tale unfolds in this British import. Six years (and only a few pages) later, Property, Netty, and Michael enter (and win!) a contest to become the new owners of a well-known “Book Emporium.” They barely have time to explore a few of its fantastical rooms before Eliot Pink arrives to dash their dreams, claiming he sold an extremely valuable book to the Emporium’s previous owner but was never paid. Undaunted, Property and Michael investigate Pink and his partner, then devise a plan to expose their trickery. Beginning with a section addressed to readers directly and continuing through the third-person omniscient narration, Bishop’s tone is warm and confiding. Black-and-white cartoon-style illustrations further illuminate both setting and characters, who are all white. The Room of Ocean Tales, for example, features an enormous glass tank filled with sea life; Pink looks a bit like a vampire while Property is big-eyed and winsome. Some clothing details have an old-fashioned feel while others are decidedly contemporary, an incongruity that suits and amplifies the story’s whimsy.

Lively writing, broad humor, and a fast-paced plot will capture and keep readers’ interest, particularly those who, like the author and her characters, love books. (author Q-and-A) (Fiction. 7-10)

Pub Date: Oct. 1, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-68263-045-7

Page Count: 135

Publisher: Peachtree

Review Posted Online: July 24, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse.

MEET THE BIGFEET

From the Yeti Files series , Vol. 1

It’s a Bigfeet family reunion!

Everyone’s favorite frosty, furry cryptid, the yeti, actually has a name: Blizz Richards. From his supersecret HQ in Nepal he keeps in touch with his fellow cryptids, all of whom have sworn an oath to keep themselves hidden. That’s not always easy, especially when there are cryptozoologists, like the nasty (but bumbling) George Vanquist, who are always trying to expose the secretive creatures. Vanquist got a picture of Blizz’s cousin Brian near his home in British Columbia, causing the mortified Brian to disappear entirely. When Blizz receives an invitation to a Bigfeet family reunion in Canada, he calls his buddies Alexander (one of Santa’s elves), Gunthar (a goblin) and Frank the Arctic fox to help him get ready. When they arrive in Canada, Brian is still nowhere to be seen. Can Blizz and his skunk ape and other sasquatch cousins find Brian, have the reunion and evade Vanquist? If anyone can, the Bigfeet clan can. Illustrator Sherry’s first volume in the Yeti Files is a fast and funny graphic-prose tale full of labeled pictures and comic-style panels. Those just starting chapter books may have some trouble with a few big words, but they’ll enjoy the big friendly monsters and immediately ask for the next tale—which looks to be about the Loch Ness monster.

Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)

Pub Date: Sept. 30, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-545-55617-0

Page Count: 128

Publisher: Scholastic

Review Posted Online: May 28, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: June 15, 2014

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Readers will enjoy this sequel from a plot perspective and will learn how to play-act a trial, though they may not engage...

THE LEMONADE CRIME

From the Lemonade War series , Vol. 2

This sequel to The Lemonade War (2007), picking up just a few days later, focuses on how the fourth graders take justice into their own hands after learning that the main suspect in the case of the missing lemonade-stand money now owns the latest in game-box technology.

Siblings Evan and Jessie (who skipped third grade because of her precocity) are sure Scott Spencer stole the $208 from Evan’s shorts and want revenge, especially as Scott’s new toy makes him the most popular kid in class, despite his personal shortcomings. Jessie’s solution is to orchestrate a full-blown trial by jury after school, while Evan prefers to challenge Scott in basketball. Neither channel proves satisfactory for the two protagonists (whose rational and emotional reactions are followed throughout the third-person narrative), though, ultimately, the matter is resolved. Set during the week of Yom Kippur, the story raises beginning questions of fairness, integrity, sin and atonement. Like John Grisham's Theodore Boone, Kid Lawyer (2010), much of the book is taken up with introducing courtroom proceedings for a fourth-grade level of understanding. Chapter headings provide definitions  (“due diligence,” “circumstantial evidence,” etc.) and explanation cards/documents drawn by Jessie are interspersed.

Readers will enjoy this sequel from a plot perspective and will learn how to play-act a trial, though they may not engage with the characters enough to care about how the justice actually pans out. (Fiction. 8-10)

Pub Date: May 2, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-547-27967-1

Page Count: 160

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Review Posted Online: April 5, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more