THE MONEY LOVERS

Fans of Jim Thompson, David Goodis, and Barry Gifford take note: Watts (Cons, 1993) has penned a noir novel of greed, graft, and lust just filled with kinky, double-crossing sleazeballs. Wesley, carrying a bag full of ransom money taken from an Atlantic City millionaire he's tortured and killed, shows up at Nicky Kramer's South Carolina manse hoping to use the marked cash to invest in one of Nicky's ``deals.'' Boyish-faced, pot-bellied Nicky is married to Katherine, a very successful fashion model with a severe drinking problem. The most recent additions to her portfolio are going to cost her money: They show her doing intimate things to and with a man, not her husband. The guy collecting the blackmail is Ellis Bowers, a gun-loving weightlifter with an acne problem he disguises with makeup. Ellis (who eats nothing but shrimp) is involved in the deal with Susie who appears to be calling the shots. She's Katherine's ``best friend,'' but she's also sleeping with Nicky. All of these folks are waiting for Nicky to consummate a real-estate scam with some all-too-gullible local businessmen. Onto this scene strides ex-Marine Jimmy Decker, fresh from the Gulf War, where he specialized as a sniper. An old high school sweetheart, he decides to rescue Katherine after Nicky brutally rapes her. (Not completely defenseless, she gets Nicky's gun and blows away his CD player—she hates Sinatra—while a delighted Wesley looks on.) Jimmy (who also has his eye on Susie) and Katherine hole up in a motel while he tries to sort out her various problems. When Nicky collects the money from the ``investors'' in the swindle, it becomes a scramble to see who will end up with which woman, who will wind up with the money—and who will stay alive. Despite a less-than-polished narrative, a diverting, gritty caper peopled by delightfully detestable creatures. (Author tour)

Pub Date: June 9, 1994

ISBN: 1-56947-008-1

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Soho

Review Posted Online: May 20, 2010

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 1, 1994

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

A CONSPIRACY OF BONES

Another sweltering month in Charlotte, another boatload of mysteries past and present for overworked, overstressed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan.

A week after the night she chases but fails to catch a mysterious trespasser outside her town house, some unknown party texts Tempe four images of a corpse that looks as if it’s been chewed by wild hogs, because it has been. Showboat Medical Examiner Margot Heavner makes it clear that, breaking with her department’s earlier practice (The Bone Collection, 2016, etc.), she has no intention of calling in Tempe as a consultant and promptly identifies the faceless body herself as that of a young Asian man. Nettled by several errors in Heavner’s analysis, and even more by her willingness to share the gory details at a press conference, Tempe launches her own investigation, which is not so much off the books as against the books. Heavner isn’t exactly mollified when Tempe, aided by retired police detective Skinny Slidell and a host of experts, puts a name to the dead man. But the hints of other crimes Tempe’s identification uncovers, particularly crimes against children, spur her on to redouble her efforts despite the new M.E.’s splenetic outbursts. Before he died, it seems, Felix Vodyanov was linked to a passenger ferry that sank in 1994, an even earlier U.S. government project to research biological agents that could control human behavior, the hinky spiritual retreat Sparkling Waters, the dark web site DeepUnder, and the disappearances of at least four schoolchildren, two of whom have also turned up dead. And why on earth was Vodyanov carrying Tempe’s own contact information? The mounting evidence of ever more and ever worse skulduggery will pull Tempe deeper and deeper down what even she sees as a rabbit hole before she confronts a ringleader implicated in “Drugs. Fraud. Breaking and entering. Arson. Kidnapping. How does attempted murder sound?”

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

Pub Date: March 17, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9821-3888-2

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Scribner

Review Posted Online: Dec. 23, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

A suspenseful, professional-grade north country procedural whose heroine, a deft mix of compassion and attitude, would be...

BADLANDS

Box takes another break from his highly successful Joe Pickett series (Stone Cold, 2014, etc.) for a stand-alone about a police detective, a developmentally delayed boy, and a package everyone in North Dakota wants to grab.

Cassandra Dewell can’t leave Montana’s Lewis and Clark County fast enough for her new job as chief investigator for Jon Kirkbride, sheriff of Bakken County. She leaves behind no memories worth keeping: her husband is dead, her boss has made no bones about disliking her, and she’s looking forward to new responsibilities and the higher salary underwritten by North Dakota’s sudden oil boom. But Bakken County has its own issues. For one thing, it’s cold—a whole lot colder than the coldest weather Cassie’s ever imagined. For another, the job she turns out to have been hired for—leading an investigation her new boss doesn’t feel he can entrust to his own force—makes her queasy. The biggest problem, though, is one she doesn’t know about until it slaps her in the face. A fatal car accident that was anything but accidental has jarred loose a stash of methamphetamines and cash that’s become the center of a battle between the Sons of Freedom, Bakken County’s traditional drug sellers, and MS-13, the Salvadorian upstarts who are muscling in on their territory. It’s a setup that leaves scant room for law enforcement officers or for Kyle Westergaard, the 12-year-old paperboy damaged since birth by fetal alcohol syndrome, who’s walked away from the wreck with a prize all too many people would kill for.

A suspenseful, professional-grade north country procedural whose heroine, a deft mix of compassion and attitude, would be welcome to return and tie up the gaping loose end Box leaves. The unrelenting cold makes this the perfect beach read.

Pub Date: July 28, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-312-58321-7

Page Count: 272

Publisher: Minotaur

Review Posted Online: April 22, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more