Fiction Video Interviews


Jason Reynolds

author of THE BOY IN THE BLACK SUIT

Kirkus Interview

February 10, 2015
THE BOY IN THE BLACK SUIT by Jason Reynolds In Jason Reynolds’ new YA novel The Boy in the Black Suit, 17-year-old Matt thinks he can’t handle one more piece of terrible news, until he meets a girl who’s dealt with a lot more—and who just might be able to clue him in on how to rise up when life keeps knocking him down—in this wry novel from the author of When I Was the Greatest. Matt wears a black suit every day. No, not because his mom died—although she did, and it sucks. But he wears the suit for his gig at the local funeral home, which pays way better than the Cluck Bucket, and he needs the income since his dad can’t handle the bills (or anything, really) on his own. “Reynolds writes with a gritty realism that beautifully captures the challenges—and rewards—of growing up in the inner city,” our reviewer writes. “A vivid, satisfying and ultimately upbeat tale of grief, redemption and grace.” View video >

David Duchovny

author of HOLY COW

Kirkus Interview

February 3, 2015
HOLY COW by David Duchovny Elsie Bovary is a cow, and a pretty happy one at that—her long, lazy days are spent eating, napping, and chatting with her best friend, Mallory. One night, Elsie and Mallory sneak out of their pasture; but while Mallory is interested in flirting with the neighboring bulls, Elsie finds herself drawn to the farmhouse. Through the window, she sees the farmer’s family gathered around a bright Box God—and what the Box God reveals about something called an “industrial meat farm” shakes Elsie’s understanding of her world to its core. Holy Cow is actor David Duchovny’s first novel. “Between the book's sly humor, gently humanist (animalist?) message and wry illustrations by Natalya Balnova, this is a pseudo-children's book that smart adults should greatly enjoy,” our reviewer wrote in a starred review. View video >

Celeste Ng

author of EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU

Kirkus Interview

December 16, 2014
EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU by Celeste Ng “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins Celeste Ng’s novel Everything I Never Told You, about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that she will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue. But when Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together is destroyed, tumbling them into chaos. A story of family, secrets and longing, Everything I Never Told You is both a gripping page-turner and a sensitive family portrait. “Ng's emotionally complex debut novel sucks you in like a strong current and holds you fast until its final secrets surface,” our reviewer wrote. View video >

Chelsea Cain

author of ONE KICK

Kirkus Interview

November 17, 2014
ONE KICK by Chelsea Cain Best-selling thriller writer Chelsea Cain "kicks" off a new series of thrillers starring former kidnapping victim Kick Lannigan, a thorough badass if we've ever seen one. We ask Cain what it was like spending time with her new creation. View video >

Lauren Oliver

author of ROOMS

Kirkus Interview

September 29, 2014
ROOMS by Lauren Oliver Lauren Oliver is known for her best-selling young adult novels (including the Delirium trilogy) but her new novel Rooms is her first written for adults. We ask her about making the transition, finding new readers, and writing a ghost story. Rooms actually has two story lines that nicely collide: First, a ghost story in which the ghosts can’t leave the house but don’t know why. Second, an estranged family story in which the ex-husband dies, leaving his alcoholic ex-wife, angry daughter and disaffected teen son to clean out their former home, not knowing that it's haunted. We go ghost-hunting with Lauren Oliver this week at Kirkus TV. View video >

Darcie Chan

author of THE MILL RIVER REDEMPTION

Kirkus Interview

August 25, 2014
THE MILL RIVER REDEMPTION by Darcie Chan During the week Darcie Chan returns to Mill River, Vermont in her new novel The Mill River Redemption, we talk to the former indie writer about her career as a bestseller published by a major house. View video >

Gregg Hurwitz

author of DON'T LOOK BACK

Kirkus Interview

August 18, 2014
DON'T LOOK BACK by Gregg Hurwitz Bestselling thriller writer Hurwitz adds to his string of imaginative novels with Don't Look Back, an action-adventure story ready for blockbuster Hollywood. We talk to Hurwitz about the Mexican setting of the novel and how he keeps readers turning pages. View video >

Anthony Doerr

author of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE

Kirkus Interview

August 4, 2014
ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony Doerr Anthony Doerr's novel All the Light We Cannot See has been one of this summer's big hits. We talk to Anthony about creating his tender new novel. View video >

Upcoming Kirkus Interviews

March 10, 2015
Jay Asher
March 17, 2015
Erik Larson
author of DEAD WAKE
March 24, 2015
Bill Browder
author of RED NOTICE