Books by Alison McGhee

THE CASE OF THE MISSING DONUT by Alison McGhee
Released: July 1, 2013

"Packed with personality, from the pastries to the people to the delightful deputy dog, this sweet confection is sure to satisfy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
This simple story of a Wild West enthusiast with a penchant for pastry will tickle the funny bones of young listeners and parents alike. Read full book review >
Released: April 23, 2013

"There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. Read full book review >
BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
Released: June 1, 2012

"Friendships can be tricky to navigate, but if youngsters find half of the joy and loyalty of this pair, they'll be set. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Winsome duo Bink and Gollie are back, this time zipping through a day at the state fair (Bink & Gollie, 2010). Read full book review >
MAKING A FRIEND by Alison McGhee
FICTION
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"This retro salute to friendship simply tries to be too much to be successful—it does not hold a candle to McGhee's prior works such as Someday or Little Boy, both illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds (2007, 2008) (Picture book. 4-6)"
The early-children's-book feel of Rosenthal's pencil-and-digital illustrations is what will first strike readers of McGhee's rather morose celebration of the forever nature of friendship. Read full book review >
BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

If James Marshall's George and Martha were not hippos and were both girls, they would be much like best friends Bink and Gollie in this charming early-reader series debut. Read full book review >
JULIA GILLIAN (AND THE DREAM OF THE DOG) by Alison McGhee
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2010

Now in sixth grade, Julia Gillian copes with her fear of eighth graders, a stubborn third-grade reading buddy as reading-averse as she is and her dog Bigfoot's last illness. Read full book review >

SO MANY DAYS by Alison McGhee
Released: Jan. 5, 2010

A tousle-haired child reads, walks, tumbles, dances and flies through these pages. Read full book review >

ONLY A WITCH CAN FLY by Alison McGhee
ADVENTURE
Released: July 1, 2009

"If you were a young witch, who had not yet flown, / and the dark night sky held a round yellow moon…" Well, you'd want to fly, wouldn't you? Read full book review >

ALWAYS by Alison McGhee
ANIMALS
Released: June 9, 2009

Just when it seems that there's nothing more to say about the enduring bond between a dog and its owner, an unassuming little pooch with brown spots steps up to the plate and adds his own first-person interpretation of that special attachment. Read full book review >

JULIA GILLIAN (AND THE QUEST FOR JOY)  by Alison McGhee
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2009

In this stand-alone sequel to Julia Gillian (and the Art of Knowing) (2008), the eponymous heroine pretends all is well while her fifth-grade world totters. Read full book review >

SONG OF MIDDLE C by Alison McGhee
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2009

How to turn a recital disaster into a triumph? Read full book review >

JULIA GILLIAN by Alison McGhee
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Nine-year-old Julia Gillian goes out of her way to avoid unhappy endings. Read full book review >

LITTLE BOY by Alison McGhee
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2008

A gentle look at the minutiae that make up life's learning moments and the importance they hold as building blocks for the future. Read full book review >

BYE-BYE, CRIB by Alison McGhee
FICTION
Released: March 4, 2008

Baby Kitty, Red Blankie, Big Pillow and their owner, a big boy of a narrator, are reluctantly making the transition from a crib to a big-boy bed. Read full book review >

SOMEDAY by Alison McGhee
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 27, 2007

From a new mother's first moments with her infant to the seasoned perspective of a grandmother in the twilight of her life, McGhee triumphs in her tribute to the steadfast constancy of a mother's love. Read full book review >

FALLING BOY by Alison McGhee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 2007

"McGhee is a gifted writer, but clever word play and a plethora of pointed metaphors are not enough to bring her fictional world to life."
A wheelchair-bound teenager learns to survive the damage he's suffered, emotional as well as physical, in this slight but highly wrought story from McGhee (Was It Beautiful?, 2003, etc.). Read full book review >
A VERY BRAVE WITCH by Alison McGhee
FANTASY
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

Witches really do exist, and they live in haunted houses. Read full book review >

ALL RIVERS FLOW TO THE SEA by Alison McGhee
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Nov. 1, 2005

Rose and her older sister, Ivy, were in a car accident one dusky evening in the Adirondack Mountains near their home. Read full book review >

MRS. WATSON WANTS YOUR TEETH by Alison McGhee
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

A second-grader puts the willies into a first-day first-grader in this very fun mock thriller. Read full book review >

SNAP by Alison McGhee
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2004

Desperate to create some order in her world, Eddie makes lists obsessively and wears a rainbow of rubber bands on her wrists to remind her of the important things in life. Read full book review >

WAS IT BEAUTIFUL? by Alison McGhee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 2003

"Skillfully done, but little new, and determinedly sentimental."
After Shadow Baby (2000), McGhee drifts maudlin-ward in a tale of loss set in upstate New York. Read full book review >
COUNTDOWN TO KINDERGARTEN by Alison McGhee
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2002

McGhee debuts for children with a very funny story about a girl who tries desperately to cope with not knowing how to tie her shoes. Read full book review >

SHADOW BABY by Alison McGhee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2000

Clara winter's mother, Tamar (more about that lower-case "w" in a minute), is no slouch either, since otherwise she'd

never be able to keep up with her 11-year-old quick-as-a-wink daughter, something she in fact does very well indeed, though

invariably playing her cards extremely close to her chest. Read full book review >

RAINLIGHT by Alison McGhee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1998

A carefully wrought take on death, love, and other profundities in a small town tries but fails to move or matter. In structure and language, McGhee's debut is more a prose portrait than a conventional novel. Read full book review >