Books by Kate DiCamillo

LOUISIANA'S WAY HOME by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 2, 2018

"For readers who relish thoughtfully constructed plots, well-developed characters, and carefully crafted language, this will be a special treat. (Historical fiction. 9-13)"
Abandoned twice over, Louisiana Elefante discovers in herself the "magic that puts things back together." Read full book review >
GOOD ROSIE! by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2018

"Subtle lessons about entering a new and unfamiliar territory, finding companions, and the value of a friendly, approachable attitude are all conveyed with a delicate touch. Good Rosie—good story. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A lonely, brown-and-white terrier named Rosie learns how to stand up to a bully and how to make new friends in this understated, gently humorous story. Read full book review >
EUGENIA LINCOLN AND THE UNEXPECTED PACKAGE  by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Eugenia's need for routine and her intolerance of change and uncertainty will resonate with readers who experience life similarly. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Mercy Watson's neighbors, the Lincoln Sisters of 52 Deckawoo Drive, return in their second adventure, and now it's elder sister Eugenia's turn in the spotlight. Read full book review >
LA LA LA by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"For a dreamer, it's easy to imagine a singer in the benevolent face in the moon—here it's a symbol of hope. (Picture book. 5-adult)"
A lonely child's perseverance helps her find the unlikeliest of companions. Read full book review >
WHERE ARE YOU GOING, BABY LINCOLN? by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"A loving and sweet addition to the Deckawoo Drive series. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Baby Lincoln has always yielded to her older sister, Eugenia, but now it is time to take a stand. Read full book review >
RAYMIE NIGHTINGALE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 12, 2016

"Once again, DiCamillo demonstrates the power of simple words in a beautiful and wise tale. (Historical fiction. 9-14)"
Ten-year-old Raymie Clarke of Lister, Florida, has a plan to get her father to come back home. Read full book review >
FRANCINE POULET MEETS THE GHOST RACCOON by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"New readers ready for a challenge and some laughs will welcome more characters from Deckawoo Drive. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Francine Poulet, the laconic and intrepid animal control officer of Gizzford County, is having a crisis of confidence. Read full book review >
LEROY NINKER SADDLES UP by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"Filled with love and kindness and glorious sweet-talk: 'Yippee-i-oh.' (Fiction. 6-9)"
Leroy Ninker dreams of being an honest-to-goodness cowboy as he watches Western movies while working at the concession stand at the drive-in theater. Read full book review >
FLORA & ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Original, touching and oh-so-funny tale starring an endearingly implausible superhero and a not-so-cynical girl. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
When a cynical comic-book fanatic discovers her own superhero, life becomes wonderfully supercharged. Read full book review >
BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. Read full book review >
BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Friendships can be tricky to navigate, but if youngsters find half of the joy and loyalty of this pair, they'll be set. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Winsome duo Bink and Gollie are back, this time zipping through a day at the state fair (Bink & Gollie, 2010). Read full book review >
BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"More, please! (Early reader. 6-8)"
If James Marshall's George and Martha were not hippos and were both girls, they would be much like best friends Bink and Gollie in this charming early-reader series debut. Read full book review >
THE MAGICIAN’S ELEPHANT by Kate DiCamillo
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A quieter volume than The Tale of Despereaux (2003) and The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane (2006), this has an equal power to haunt readers long past the final page. (Fantasy. 8-13)"
Ten-year-old Peter Augustus Duchene goes to the market for fish and bread but spends it at the fortuneteller's tent instead. Read full book review >
MERCY WATSON THINKS LIKE A PIG by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2008

"Fifteen very short action-packed chapters make this a fine step up for readers ready for a slightly more challenging read than Henry and Mudge. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Mercy Watson, beloved porcine wonder, meets Francine Poulet, "the best animal control officer in the history of the world." Read full book review >
GREAT JOY by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"This simple but powerful story will indeed bring the reader great joy. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Newbery Medalist DiCamillo is joined again by the illustrator of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane (2005) in this moving story that offers the reader (or young listener) a treat: a story with an outwardly simple plot but with an inner core of meaning that is deeply satisfying. Read full book review >
MERCY WATSON by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"No matter, though—young readers will clamor for more adventures with this irrepressible retro pig and her lovable family. (Fiction. 5-8)"
Everyone's porcine wonder is back, and just in time for Halloween. Mrs. Watson knows just what Mercy should be for the holiday—a tiara-and-pink-tulle-clad princess. Read full book review >
MERCY WATSON by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"No matter, though—young readers will clamor for more adventures with this irrepressible retro pig and her lovable family. (Fiction. 5-8)"
Everyone's porcine wonder is back, and just in time for Halloween. Mrs. Watson knows just what Mercy should be for the holiday—a tiara-and-pink-tulle-clad princess. Read full book review >
MERCY WATSON FIGHTS CRIME by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Silly crime-solving for the growing number of Mercy's young fans moving on from easy readers. (Fiction. 6-8)"
Mercy is back in this fun third installment of merrymaking, buttered-toast eating, and crime solving. Read full book review >
MERCY WATSON GOES FOR A RIDE by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2006

"All's well that ends well, of course, and that means everyone can celebrate with a stack of toast and an extra pat of butter. (Fiction. 6-8)"
THE MIRACULOUS JOURNEY OF EDWARD TULANE by Kate DiCamillo
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2006

"Keep the tissues handy for this one. (Fiction. 7+)"
Once again, DiCamillo harkens back to an older storytelling style, filled with magic and the transformational power of love. Read full book review >
MERCY WATSON TO THE RESCUE by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"However, the pacing and the action easily make it right for shared reading. (Fiction. 6-8)"
Hilarity and hijinks abound in this tale about a voracious swine with an overweening yen for hot buttered toast. Read full book review >
THE TALE OF DESPEREAUX by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"And so unwinds a tale with twists and turns, full of forbidden soup and ladles, rats lusting for mouse blood, a servant who wishes to be a princess, a knight in shining—or, at least, furry—armor, and all the ingredients of an old-fashioned drama. (Fiction. 7-12)"
Dear reader, light your lamp and listen to the tale of Despereaux, the last mouse born of Antoinette. Read full book review >
THE TIGER RISING by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2001

"Still, the tiger, 'burning bright' with magnificent, feral presence, does make an arresting central image. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Themes of freedom and responsibility twine between the lines of this short but heavy novel from the author of Because of Winn-Dixie (2000). Read full book review >
BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE by Kate DiCamillo
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2000

"A real gem. (Fiction. 9-12)"
A 10-year old girl learns to adjust to a strange town, makes some fascinating friends, and fills the empty space in her heart thanks to a big old stray dog in this lyrical, moving, and enchanting book by a fresh new voice. Read full book review >