Books by Will Hillenbrand

OFF WE GO! by Will Hillenbrand
Released: Sept. 15, 2013

"A winner all around. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A good friend will help you prepare for your challenges and will see you through them, as Bear does for Mole in another charming tale in the series from Hillenbrand (Kite Day, 2012, etc.) Read full book review >
BEAR IN LOVE by Daniel Pinkwater
Released: Aug. 14, 2012

"There's lots to love here. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A friendly little whodunit results in an unexpected romance between a bear and a bunny. Read full book review >
KITE DAY by Will Hillenbrand
Released: March 1, 2012

"This gentle and charming read-aloud will make young audiences "awww" with delight. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this breezy kite affair, the adorable duo of Bear and Mole is back again, reveling in nature. Read full book review >
SNEEZE, BIG BEAR, SNEEZE! by Maureen Wright
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"Still, though the bounce of Wright's verse is welcome, the story is all too slender; for truly satisfying ursine braggadocio, try How Chipmunk Got His Stripes, by Joseph and James Bruchac, illustrated by José Aruego and Ariane Dewey (2001). (Picture book. 3-6) "
Big Bear gets in all kinds of trouble when he takes credit for the work of the wind. Read full book review >
SPRING IS HERE by Will Hillenbrand
Released: March 1, 2011

Mole is absolutely thrilled that spring has finally arrived. Read full book review >

MOTHER GOOSE PICTURE PUZZLES by Will Hillenbrand
Released: March 1, 2011

Hillenbrand introduces the idea of rebuses to newly emergent readers with a gathering of likely-to-be-familiar Mother Goose rhymes—from "Hey diddle, diddle, / the [cat] and the [fiddle]" to "Twinkle, twinkle, little [star]." Read full book review >

DON'T SLAM THE DOOR! by Dori Chaconas
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

This cause-and-effect tale with a catchy rhythm begins with a green-eyed, red-pig-tailed girl shouting: "Please don't slam the door! / Don't slam that old screen door! / A slamming door will wake the cat, / and heaven knows, we don't want that, / so please don't slam that door!" Read full book review >

SLEEP, BIG BEAR, SLEEP! by Maureen Wright
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

Big Bear is hard of hearing, so each time Old Man Winter tries to tell him to "Sleep, Big Bear, sleep," he hears something different, from "drive a jeep" to "leap" to "dive deep." Read full book review >

LOUIE! by Will Hillenbrand
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

The artistic journey of a porcine Parisian painter. Read full book review >

ONE FINE TRADE by Bobbi Miller
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: March 15, 2009

In this sprightly Southern rendition of a familiar folktale, Georgy Piney Woods sets out to trade a "rail-skinny horse" for a "shiny silver dollar" to buy his daughter Georgianne a wedding dress. Read full book review >

BABY DRAGON by Amy Ehrlich
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2008

Mother Dragon instructs her baby to wait for her by the red fern while she visits his grandmother, telling him she'll be back by morning but neglecting to explain why he's being left behind. Read full book review >

COCK-A-DOODLE CHRISTMAS! by Will Hillenbrand
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

Hillenbrand offers an amusing and original Christmas story for younger children, with the familiar setting of the stable in Bethlehem and a cast of farm animals. Read full book review >

WHOPPER CAKE by Karma Wilson
FICTION
Released: July 10, 2007

Written in verse, Wilson's original, folksy tall tale is given an industrial-strength boost from Hillenbrand's big, exuberant artwork. Read full book review >

CALENDAR by Myra Cohn Livingston
POETRY
Released: May 1, 2007

Livingston's brief, through-the-months poem gets a vibrant treatment in this appealing picture book. Read full book review >

THE MOON MIGHT BE MILK by Lisa Shulman
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2007

Rosie wonders what the moon is made of; her cat purrs, "a saucer of fresh milk." Read full book review >

SMASH! MASH! CRASH! THERE GOES THE TRASH! by Barbara Odanaka
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

Fans of Kate and Jim McMullan's I Stink! (2002) will welcome this look-alike, sound-alike return visit, as a pair of bright green trucks with backward-looking red eyes and huge mouths (even, in one startling scene, an oversized tongue) consume with relish a smorgasbord of broken furniture and garbage: "Rotten eggs? / Apple cores? / Pack 'em in—the engine ROARS. / Stinky diapers? / Coffee grounds? / Load it UP and smash it DOWN." Read full book review >

MY BOOK BOX by Will Hillenbrand
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

Conceived to kick off a library's summer reading campaign, this relentlessly purposeful outing presents a toddler-like elephant and frog duo demonstrating uses for an understandably rumpled-looking cardboard box. Read full book review >

ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

Penguin's second outing is all about playground safety, with a healthy dose of good manners and respect thrown in for good measure. Read full book review >

WHAT A TREASURE! by Jane Hillenbrand
ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2006

The day that Mole gets his new shovel, he starts to dig for treasure despite his brother betting that he won't find any. Read full book review >

THIS LITTLE PIGGY by Jane Yolen
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2006

Divided into the types of games parents and children can play as they read these rhymes, this collection focuses on lifting, bumping, wiggling, clapping and pantomiming motions. Read full book review >

THE BUMPY LITTLE PUMPKIN by Margery Cuyler
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

In this holiday-themed retread of The Biggest, Best Snowman (1998), Little Nell once again "proves" (with plenty of help) that she's more capable than her two big sisters suppose. Read full book review >

HISTORY
Released: May 1, 2005

This is undeniably winning; whether it is good, however, is up for discussion. Read full book review >

ASLEEP IN THE STABLE by Will Hillenbrand
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

From their perch high in the rafters of the stable, Baby Owl and Mama Owl look down on the manger scene in this delightful introduction to the Nativity story. Read full book review >

ONE, TWO, THREE O’LEARY by Malachy Doyle
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

There's really no plot here beyond ten small children cavorting in the spirit of "five little monkeys jumping on the bed." Read full book review >

ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2004

The table manners of Penguin's dinner guests are under scrutiny in this delightful look at mealtime behavior. Read full book review >

DOWN ON THE FARM by Merrily Kutner
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2004

The three R's—rhythm, rhyme, and repetition—are harvested abundantly in this simple, sing-song introduction to farm animals for toddlers. Read full book review >

HERE WE GO ROUND THE MULBERRY BUSH by Will Hillenbrand
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

In a nursery song adaptation that's meant to be sung aloud, a little pig tells about his first day at Mulberry School. Read full book review >

’TWAS THE FRIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS by Judy Sierra
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

For anyone who can't decide between Halloween surprises and Christmas cheer, here's a holiday smorgasbord of monsters and one tiny mouse serving as Santa with a sleigh pulled by eight bats. Read full book review >

LOOK OUT, JACK! THE GIANT IS BACK! by Tom Birdseye
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 15, 2001

Clever Jack of English folklore has stolen the hen that lays golden eggs, the harp that sings, and bags of money. Read full book review >

FIDDLE-I-FEE by Will Hillenbrand
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: April 1, 2001

Hillenbrand (Look Out, Jack! Read full book review >

PRESCHOOL TO THE RESCUE by Judy Sierra
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2001

In this mini-adventure, the grumpy villain is a deceptively deep puddle. Read full book review >

KISS THE COW! by Phyllis Root
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2000

A refreshing, original American tall tale. Read full book review >

DOWN BY THE STATION by Will Hillenbrand
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

Hillenbrand takes license with the familiar song (the traditional words and music are reproduced at the end) to tell an enchanting story about baby animals picked up by the train and delivered to the children's zoo. Read full book review >

THE BIGGEST, BEST SNOWMAN by Margery Cuyler
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

This funny winter's tale from Cuyler features a girl who needs a boost of confidence to get past the teasing of her overwhelming, overbearing mother and sisters. Read full book review >

THE GOLDEN SANDAL by Rebecca Hickox
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: March 15, 1998

Hickox (Zorro and Quwi, 1997) finds her Cinderella in Maha, a fairy godmother in a red fish that Maha shows mercy to, and the lost slipper in a golden sandal, discovered by Tariq, brother of a rich merchant, who then takes on the search for his bride- to-be. Read full book review >

ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

Sam Sunday, bear detective, is miserable because no one remembered his birthday. Read full book review >

WICKED JACK by Connie Nordhielm Wooldridge
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 15, 1995

Wooldridge's first book is stunning. Read full book review >

THE KING WHO TRIED TO FRY AN EGG ON HIS HEAD by Mirra Ginsburg
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: April 1, 1994

A Russian tale retold by a popular picture-book author (Mushroom in the Rain; Two Greedy Bears). Read full book review >

MOON WAS TIRED OF WALKING ON AIR by Natalia M. Belting
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

``In the time before this time...'' begins one of these 14 creation myths of the South American Indians. Read full book review >

I'M THE BEST! by Marjorie Weinman Sharmat
ANIMALS
Released: April 15, 1991

Dudley has had many owners (one gave him away for eating a plant; one moved; one died) and many names; now he's chosen as successor to another dog, one that died. Read full book review >