Book List

Entertaining Nonfiction to Lift Your Spirits

  • NONFICTION

    TRY TO GET LOST

    FEB. 18, 2020

NONFICTION

TRY TO GET LOST

by Joan Frank

Philosophical, sophisticated literary forays that are a pleasure to dwell in. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF ALICE B. TOKLAS ILLUSTRATED

    MARCH 3, 2020

  • NONFICTION

    THE HUNT FOR HISTORY

    MARCH 10, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE HUNT FOR HISTORY

by Nathan Raab

Though the anecdotes are unconnected, they are unfailingly entertaining. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE FALCON THIEF

    FEB. 11, 2020

  • NONFICTION

    FIRST, CATCH

    MARCH 10, 2020

NONFICTION

FIRST, CATCH

by Thom Eagle

A graceful, enlightening contribution to food writing. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SALMON

    MARCH 3, 2020

NONFICTION

SALMON

by Mark Kurlansky

In championing a critically important part of the natural world, Kurlansky sounds an urgent alarm that commands our... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    NOBODY WILL TELL YOU THIS BUT ME

    MARCH 17, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

NOBODY WILL TELL YOU THIS BUT ME

by Bess Kalb

An endearing, bittersweet, and entertainingly fresh take on the family memoir. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    FASTER

    MARCH 17, 2020

HISTORY

FASTER

by Neal Bascomb

A luminous book of sports history that explores a forgotten corner of the history of the Third Reich as well. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE RUMI PRESCRIPTION

    MARCH 3, 2020

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!