STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA)

From the "Starring Jules" series, volume 2
by , illustrated by
Age Range: 6 - 9
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City–sized tension and hilarity.

Full of energy and charisma, Jules has been asked to audition for a TV show about a New York City family; she would be the youngest of three siblings. Ain gives this bubbly girl a distinctive voice (“I am having so many feelings inside my body that I feel like a pan of shake-over-the-stovetop popcorn”) that brims with questions and confidence. Jules skitters from problem to problem like a city cab, balancing her audition with another project: cheering up her new friend Elinor, who is from London. Things are busy at school, too: Her ex–best friend Charlotte continues to steal the limelight there, receiving the plum role in the end-of-the-year play. Soon, the juggling of school, friends and an acting career produces conflicts that even her creative family cannot solve. The multiple problems nearly overwhelm the story; they keep the dramatic tension high, but they also leave a few quick loose ends to tie at the conclusion.  

Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)

Pub Date: Aug. 27th, 2013
ISBN: 978-0-545-44354-8
Page count: 176pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 15th, 2013




MORE BY BETH AIN

ChildrenIZZY KLINE HAS BUTTERFLIES by Beth Ain
by Beth Ain
ChildrenSTARRING JULES (AS HERSELF) by Beth Ain
by Beth Ain

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenTOOTHLESS WONDER by Barbara Park
by Barbara Park
ChildrenSTILL JUST GRACE by Charise Mericle Harper
by Charise Mericle Harper
ChildrenTHE TALENTED CLEMENTINE by Sara Pennypacker
by Sara Pennypacker