An engaging, lighthearted, and thought-provoking fantasy about what heaven is really like.

READ REVIEW

SEAT OF TRUTH

A debut novel focuses on a journey through the Christian heaven.

At the beginning of Domexa’s book, Mitch Campbell and his mother die in a car crash in July 2015 during rush-hour traffic in West Palm Beach, Florida. As the tale unfolds, Mitch is telling readers his story from heaven. Two months earlier, he had lost his brother, Edmund, in a random shooting. Edmund is just one of the many people Mitch encounters in paradise. There is also the flamboyant Flannighans L. Molard, a gay man who sometimes sold marijuana (apparently something Mitch considers a surefire barrier to salvation). Molard’s presence surprises Mitch, who’s still operating under his previously held ideas of what a person needs to do to gain entry into heaven. “According to popular belief,” he reflects, “if you don’t go to church every Sunday, pray as hard as prophet Elijah, pay one tenth of every hard dollar you’ve earned, make pledge to charities, and never kill mosquitos, some pastors say you’re not going” to paradise. The more Mitch learns of heaven, the more he realizes the errors of those old ideas—although the process is very gradual despite all the religious and philosophical elaborations he hears from everybody there. “Mankind,” he’s told at one point, places “so much emphasis on sex, murder, and homosexuality as if these were the ultimate sins for which redemption seems almost inapplicable, while little lies, resentment, manipulation, selfishness, trifling and hypocrisy thrive among them.” Domexa’s writing style is relaxed and inviting, and his humor (particularly regarding Mitch’s formidable mother) shines through in most sections. Furthermore, Mitch’s eventful odyssey should spark some lively discussions. But the author’s decision to make his version of heaven essentially West Palm Beach with limitless buffets will strike some readers as a bit ridiculous. There are French mansions, well-trimmed hedges, and Persian rugs, and readers are told that “most things” are made of “cherry, oak, walnut trees, gemstones and bamboo.” Fortunately, this element serves the narrative’s deeper purpose of putting a very human face on eternity.

An engaging, lighthearted, and thought-provoking fantasy about what heaven is really like.

Pub Date: Feb. 11, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-77523-240-7

Page Count: -

Publisher: Zeeks Publishing Inc.

Review Posted Online: Jan. 26, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

GHOSTED

In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called.

Sarah has just separated from her American husband and is visiting her hometown in England when she meets Eddie. He’s kind and charming, and although they only spend one week together, she falls in love. When he has to leave for a trip, she knows they’ll keep in touch—they’re already making plans for the rest of their lives. But then Eddie never calls, and Sarah’s increasingly frantic efforts to contact him are fruitless. Is he hurt? Is he dead? As her friends tell her, there’s a far greater likelihood that he’s just blowing her off—she’s been ghosted. After trying to track Eddie down at a football game, Sarah starts to become ashamed of herself—after all, she’s almost 40 years old and she’s essentially stalking a man who never called her. But as Sarah slowly learns, she and Eddie didn’t actually meet randomly—they both have a connection to an accident that happened years ago, and it may have something to do with why he disappeared. The tension quickly amps up as the secrets of Eddie’s and Sarah’s pasts are revealed, and the truth behind their connection is genuinely surprising and heartbreaking. The barriers between Sarah and Eddie seem insurmountable at times, and although their issues are resolved in a tidy manner, the emotions behind their actions are always believable. Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart.

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Pub Date: July 24, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-525-52277-5

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Pamela Dorman/Viking

Review Posted Online: May 1, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more