A compendium of compassion by can-do kids who encourage others to share some love.

READ REVIEW

INSPIRING STORIES THAT MAKE A DIFFERENCE BY 75 KIDS WHO CHANGED THEIR WORLDS

Kids talk about how they’ve helped others in a children’s book by author Nick Katsoris’s Loukoumi Make a Difference Foundation in partnership with the creators of the Broadway musical Come From Away.

Mr. Rogers gave sage advice that David Hein and Irene Sankoff, the creators of Come From Away, quote in their foreword to this book for roughly ages 8 and up: “Look for the helpers.” That tip catches the spirit of this collection of brief first-person reports from 75 children and teens, each shown in a color photo. “These young leaders teach by example and remind us all that we have the power to better our communities and make a real difference,” Hein and Sankoff say. A notable example is Adelyn Brazil of Crown Point, Indiana, who, at the age of 7, launched a campaign to raise funds to erect Little Free Library boxes throughout her town. Another contributor is New Yorker Michael Colombos, who has traveled overseas to deliver supplies to orphanages in Aegio, Greece. His reward was “making a difference in the lives of these children as much as they are making a difference by being a part of mine!” Several of the projects described here have expanded significantly, including Ruby Kate Chitsey’s “Three Wishes for Ruby’s Residents” program. At first, Ruby aimed to fill three wishes for nursing home residents in Arkansas (“they always asked for simple items like snacks, clothes that fit, or food”), but her work led to the formation of a nonprofit organization that has raised more than $250,000 and has plans for chapters in other states. In her entry, Julia Katsoris (whose projects have included raking leaves in Astoria Park in Queens, New York) expresses a common theme: “When you put your mind to something, you can accomplish anything.” School and religious or other groups may find children’s stories to be a good source of ideas for projects, though a lengthy section profiling recipients of the Loukoumi Dream Day Contest winners may strike some readers as excessive self-promotion by a sponsor of this book.

A compendium of compassion by can-do kids who encourage others to share some love.

Pub Date: Oct. 22, 2019

ISBN: 978-1-948181-70-9

Page Count: 128

Publisher: Hybrid Global Publishing

Review Posted Online: Feb. 10, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

GHOSTED

In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called.

Sarah has just separated from her American husband and is visiting her hometown in England when she meets Eddie. He’s kind and charming, and although they only spend one week together, she falls in love. When he has to leave for a trip, she knows they’ll keep in touch—they’re already making plans for the rest of their lives. But then Eddie never calls, and Sarah’s increasingly frantic efforts to contact him are fruitless. Is he hurt? Is he dead? As her friends tell her, there’s a far greater likelihood that he’s just blowing her off—she’s been ghosted. After trying to track Eddie down at a football game, Sarah starts to become ashamed of herself—after all, she’s almost 40 years old and she’s essentially stalking a man who never called her. But as Sarah slowly learns, she and Eddie didn’t actually meet randomly—they both have a connection to an accident that happened years ago, and it may have something to do with why he disappeared. The tension quickly amps up as the secrets of Eddie’s and Sarah’s pasts are revealed, and the truth behind their connection is genuinely surprising and heartbreaking. The barriers between Sarah and Eddie seem insurmountable at times, and although their issues are resolved in a tidy manner, the emotions behind their actions are always believable. Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart.

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Pub Date: July 24, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-525-52277-5

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Pamela Dorman/Viking

Review Posted Online: May 1, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more