Video Interviews


Pierce Brown

author of GOLDEN SON

Kirkus Interview

February 17, 2015
GOLDEN SON by Pierce Brown With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, Pierce Brown’s genre-defying Red Rising hit the ground running. The sequel, Golden Son, continues the saga of Darrow, a rebel battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom. As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds—and their only path to liberation is revolution. “Stirring—and archetypal—stuff,” our reviewer writes. View video >

Jason Reynolds

author of THE BOY IN THE BLACK SUIT

Kirkus Interview

February 10, 2015
THE BOY IN THE BLACK SUIT by Jason Reynolds In Jason Reynolds’ new YA novel The Boy in the Black Suit, 17-year-old Matt thinks he can’t handle one more piece of terrible news, until he meets a girl who’s dealt with a lot more—and who just might be able to clue him in on how to rise up when life keeps knocking him down—in this wry novel from the author of When I Was the Greatest. Matt wears a black suit every day. No, not because his mom died—although she did, and it sucks. But he wears the suit for his gig at the local funeral home, which pays way better than the Cluck Bucket, and he needs the income since his dad can’t handle the bills (or anything, really) on his own. “Reynolds writes with a gritty realism that beautifully captures the challenges—and rewards—of growing up in the inner city,” our reviewer writes. “A vivid, satisfying and ultimately upbeat tale of grief, redemption and grace.” View video >

David Duchovny

author of HOLY COW

Kirkus Interview

February 3, 2015
HOLY COW by David Duchovny Elsie Bovary is a cow, and a pretty happy one at that—her long, lazy days are spent eating, napping, and chatting with her best friend, Mallory. One night, Elsie and Mallory sneak out of their pasture; but while Mallory is interested in flirting with the neighboring bulls, Elsie finds herself drawn to the farmhouse. Through the window, she sees the farmer’s family gathered around a bright Box God—and what the Box God reveals about something called an “industrial meat farm” shakes Elsie’s understanding of her world to its core. Holy Cow is actor David Duchovny’s first novel. “Between the book's sly humor, gently humanist (animalist?) message and wry illustrations by Natalya Balnova, this is a pseudo-children's book that smart adults should greatly enjoy,” our reviewer wrote in a starred review. View video >

Gayle Forman

author of I WAS HERE

Kirkus Interview

January 27, 2015
I WAS HERE by Gayle Forman In I Was Here, Gayle Forman’s latest novel after the release of the movie version of her novel If I Stay, Cody’s best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room and Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question. “An engrossing and provocative look at the devastating finality of suicide, survivor’s guilt, the complicated nature of responsibility and even the role of the Internet in life-and-death decisions,” our reviewer writes. We talk to Forman on January 27 on Kirkus TV. View video >

Sharyl Attkisson

author of STONEWALLED

Kirkus Interview

January 13, 2015
STONEWALLED by Sharyl Attkisson Who’s been hacking investigative reporter Sharyl Attkisson’s computers? Computers that turn themselves on in the night, make strange noises, then shut themselves down. Whoever is doing it is using highly sophisticated spyware available only to our top intelligence agencies. Is someone sending Attkisson a message? In Stonewalled, Attkisson describes how, through more than 30 years as an award-winning investigative reporter, she uncovered wrongdoing by those in power, whether major corporations, government officials, or presidential administrations of both parties. But when she started looking into stories involving the Obama administration’s mistakes and misjudgments in a series of high-profile cases, she was confronted with the administration’s use of hardball tactics. “A deep, nuanced and indignant indictment of the players who have made investigative journalism harder to conduct, even if those actors are other journalists,” our reviewer writes. View video >

Mary Pope Osborne

author of DANGER IN THE DARKEST HOUR

Kirkus Interview

January 6, 2015
DANGER IN THE DARKEST HOUR by Mary Pope Osborne Danger in the Darkest Hour is beloved children’s writer Mary Pope Osborne’s latest entry in the Magic Tree House series and it features Jack and Annie’s most dangerous mission ever. The magic tree house has taken Jack and Annie back in time to England in 1944. England is fighting for its life in World War II. Before long, Jack and Annie find themselves parachuting into Normandy, France, behind enemy lines. The date is June 5. Will the brave brother and sister team be able to make a difference during one of the darkest times in history? “It appears there is nowhere Osborne’s Magic Tree House cannot take readers, as this successful foray suggests,” our reviewer writes. View video >

Celeste Ng

author of EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU

Kirkus Interview

December 16, 2014
EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU by Celeste Ng “Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.” So begins Celeste Ng’s novel Everything I Never Told You, about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that she will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue. But when Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together is destroyed, tumbling them into chaos. A story of family, secrets and longing, Everything I Never Told You is both a gripping page-turner and a sensitive family portrait. “Ng's emotionally complex debut novel sucks you in like a strong current and holds you fast until its final secrets surface,” our reviewer wrote. View video >

Beth Macy

author of FACTORY MAN

Kirkus Interview

December 9, 2014
FACTORY MAN by Beth Macy The Bassett Furniture Company was once the world's biggest wood furniture manufacturer. Run by the same powerful Virginia family for generations, it was also the center of life in Bassett, Virginia. But beginning in the 1980s, the first waves of Asian competition hit, and ultimately Bassett was forced to send its production overseas. In Factory Man, Beth Macy details John Bassett’s epic struggle to keep his company in business amid unfair overseas business practices that forced many U.S. manufacturers to move their factories abroad. A brash, patriotic charmer fond of quoting George Patton. The author’s brightly written, richly detailed narrative not only illuminates globalization and the issue of offshoring, but succeeds brilliantly in conveying the human costs borne by low-income people displaced from a way of life. We like Factory Man so much, we named it to our list of Best Nonfiction Books of 2014. We talk to Macy this week on Kirkus TV. View video >

Upcoming Kirkus Interviews

March 3, 2015
Gabrielle Zevin
March 10, 2015
Jay Asher