Book List

Best 2019 Fiction Writers to Discover

  • FICTION

    WHERE WE COME FROM

    MAY 21, 2019

FICTION

WHERE WE COME FROM

by Oscar Cásares

In some ways timely, this quiet, delicate book delivers a truly timeless emotional punch. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE RIVER

    MARCH 6, 2019

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

THE RIVER

by Peter Heller

An exhilarating tale delivered with the pace of a thriller and the wisdom of a grizzled nature guide. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    CALM SEA AND PROSPEROUS VOYAGE

    MAY 7, 2019

FICTION

CALM SEA AND PROSPEROUS VOYAGE

by Bette Howland

This achingly beautiful book throbs with life, compassion, warmth, and humor; hums with an undercurrent of existential... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    RABBITS FOR FOOD

    MAY 7, 2019

FICTION

RABBITS FOR FOOD

by Binnie Kirshenbaum

Kirshenbaum is a remarkable writer of fiercely observed fiction and a bleak, stark wit; her latest novel is as moving as it... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    HEAVEN, MY HOME

    SEPT. 17, 2019

MYSTERY & DETECTIVE

HEAVEN, MY HOME

by Attica Locke

Locke’s advancement here is so bracing that you can’t wait to discover what happens next along her East Texas highway. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    LOST CHILDREN ARCHIVE

    FEB. 12, 2019

FICTION

LOST CHILDREN ARCHIVE

by Valeria Luiselli

A powerful border story, at once intellectual and heartfelt. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE HEAVENS

    FEB. 12, 2019

FICTION

THE HEAVENS

by Sandra Newman

A complex, unmissable work from a writer who deserves wide acclaim. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    TUESDAY MOONEY TALKS TO GHOSTS

    OCT. 8, 2019

MYSTERY & DETECTIVE

TUESDAY MOONEY TALKS TO GHOSTS

by Kate Racculia

Spooky, witty, and observant, Racculia's novel of friendship and bigger-than-life aspirations is a treasure. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SPRING

    MAY 1, 2019

FICTION

SPRING

by Ali Smith

Smith's work is always challenging and always rewarding. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    RUSTY BROWN

    SEPT. 24, 2019

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

RUSTY BROWN

by Chris Ware ; illustrated by Chris Ware

An overstuffed, beguiling masterwork of visual storytelling from the George Herriman of his time. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!