Book List

Best Picture Books of 2013 for Adventuresome Readers

  • CHILDREN'S

    JOURNEY

    AUG. 6, 2013

CHILDREN'S

JOURNEY

by Aaron Becker ; illustrated by Aaron Becker

An imaginative adventure story whose elaborate illustrations inspire wonder, careful examination and multiple reads. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BEN RIDES ON

    MAY 28, 2013

CHILDREN'S

BEN RIDES ON

by Matt Davies ; illustrated by Matt Davies

Great amusement for the bold and timid alike. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    LOCOMOTIVE

    SEPT. 3, 2013

CHILDREN'S

LOCOMOTIVE

by Brian Floca ; illustrated by Brian Floca

Nothing short of spectacular, just like the journey it describes. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    COME BACK, BEN

    SEPT. 1, 2013

  • CHILDREN'S

    LITTLE RED WRITING

    SEPT. 24, 2013

CHILDREN'S

LITTLE RED WRITING

by Joan Holub ; illustrated by Melissa Sweet

Every writers’ group should start with this story. (Picture book. 7 & up) Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE WORLD IS WAITING FOR YOU

    MARCH 12, 2013

CHILDREN'S

THE WORLD IS WAITING FOR YOU

by Barbara Kerley

Vivid glimpses of what waits for anyone who is willing to stop just looking and go. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BRUSH OF THE GODS

    JUNE 25, 2013

CHILDREN'S

BRUSH OF THE GODS

by Lenore Look ; illustrated by Meilo So

A cheerful introduction not only to Wu Daozi, but to the power of inspiration. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    KENTA AND THE BIG WAVE

    OCT. 1, 2013

CHILDREN'S

KENTA AND THE BIG WAVE

by Ruth Ohi ; illustrated by Ruth Ohi

An eminently child-friendly treatment of the devastation that follows disaster. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    RIFKA TAKES A BOW

    SEPT. 1, 2013

  • CHILDREN'S

    BUGS IN MY HAIR!

    SEPT. 1, 2013

CHILDREN'S

BUGS IN MY HAIR!

by David Shannon ; illustrated by David Shannon

Don’t scratch your head over this purchase: Entertainment and information are all wrapped up in one funny and disinfected... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!