Book List

Best Picture Books of 2015 About Friendship

  • CHILDREN'S

    LENNY & LUCY

    OCT. 6, 2015

CHILDREN'S

LENNY & LUCY

by Philip C. Stead ; illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Hypnotic artwork and storytelling invite children to linger in the wild woods of worry and emerge intact, enriched, and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    MY BEDTIME MONSTER

    NOV. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

MY BEDTIME MONSTER

by Annelies Schwarz ; illustrated by Kveta Pacovská

This title feeds and calms listeners’ imaginations in the most delightful way. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE ONLY CHILD

    DEC. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THE ONLY CHILD

by Guojing ; illustrated by Guojing

Rare is the book containing great emotional depth that truly resonates across a span of ages: this is one such. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WAITING

    SEPT. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

WAITING

by Kevin Henkes ; illustrated by Kevin Henkes

Waiting as a joyful activity in itself is almost never celebrated; this Zen-like meditation might win some converts. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THANK YOU AND GOOD NIGHT

    OCT. 6, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THANK YOU AND GOOD NIGHT

by Patrick McDonnell ; illustrated by Patrick McDonnell

Small listeners will nestle deep under their covers feeling thankful for tender books that make bedtime a pleasure. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I'M NEW HERE

    AUG. 4, 2015

CHILDREN'S

I'M NEW HERE

by Anne Sibley O'Brien ; illustrated by Anne Sibley O'Brien

Whether readers are new themselves or meeting those who are new, there are lessons to be learned here about perseverance,... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    CROW MADE A FRIEND

    SEPT. 15, 2015

CHILDREN'S

CROW MADE A FRIEND

by Margaret Peot ; illustrated by Margaret Peot

A brightly illustrated story perfect for the very beginner reader. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    TWO MICE

    SEPT. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

TWO MICE

by Sergio Ruzzier ; illustrated by Sergio Ruzzier

One story. Two mice. Three cheers. Lots to love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY

    JUNE 30, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY

by Kate Beaton ; illustrated by Kate Beaton

Instead of breaking bones, this warrior princess breaks the mold—and Beaton is in a class of her own. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!